Banks


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
October 20th 2007
Published: February 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Saturday 20th October

Start the day with 70,000 Kip (about 7.00 US) in my pocket so need money, also have to confirm my flight to Siem Reip.
Hit the ATM’s in the main street but they don’t take VISA, only MasterCard and I think Cirrus?
Look up the banks, BCEL will give me US dollars with my passport and it’s next door to Lao airlines head office in town.
Too easy.
Check the map and decide it’s too far to walk so grab a Tuk Tuk.
How much? 30,000 Kip.
Get to the airline office and don’t see any bank.
Reconfirm flight with my passport and ask “Where is bank?” and show map.
Staff says "too far your map".
What?
Get directions and do the sign language thing with the driver pretending my map was bigger.
Get to bank and am very impressed it has an ATM that takes VISA but that is out of order.
It has a door. Very nice.
Stand in line.
“Sorry no electronic”
What?
“No electricity”
It was then I noticed I was standing in a dark bank, and this is the biggest bank in town, it has a door remember.
Sh!t.
Because of the detour I now have 9000 kip left, or about 90 US cents.
Walk into the lobby and am asked “Where you go today sir?
“Not far, bank no good but did confirm flight, no money.”
Them, “How much you want? $100 US I charge you $3 on top”.
What?
“I can confirm flight”
What?
“You still want to go to Budda cave? I fix. Charge to your room”
So I sit here with $100 US in my pocket, a private boat to the caves, and a smile back on my face and it’s only 11.00.
What a guesthouse!
Time for lunch and a celebratory G and T.
By myself on the boat to the Bam Ting (sp?). Maybe a 14.00 departure to the cave is not so popular? The Budda cave is where they put all the old Budda statues as a retirement home, being as they can’t destroy a Budda from a Wat.
Actually I don’t think you’re allowed to destroy them at all.
There must be a lot more caves around here.
One and a half hours up river to the cave and only 40 minutes back, the view of the locals on the banks was very National Geographic.
Up the street for dinner and have a chat to Pat and Janet back at the Apsara.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.032s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0153s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1021.8kb