Tough to be American


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
September 27th 2007
Published: October 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sometimes it's really tiring being me. I often have to fight with other people because I'm American or because I am so young or because I am a woman, who knows all the reasons people seem to pick on me. This time a Swiss man (Lawrence) and I had a fight because he insisted that America has no true American food (an extremely common argument). He had been to New York so he thought he knew everything about America (also common assumption) and what he found out was american food is just Starbucks, hamburgers and fast food like McDonalds. I did my best to explain to him that America does have it's own food - like Southern, TexMex and Cajun styles but he didn't understand (as he's never tried those). Anyways, I just argued with Brigitte and Navneet about why America is such a powerful country but typically has all these very ignorant people. I ended up attributing it to our education system which is centered more around how to learn than the facts themselves.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.34s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.269s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb