Been chilling, going on an adventure.


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
March 5th 2007
Published: March 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Okay, so it's been a while since my last blog. Believe me, I always have an intention of writing, but apparently you need some ambition as well. Although, while in Vang Vieng I did have my ambitious moments. The day after my last blog I actually went tubing agian. This time I started at the beginning (The whole tubing experience can last anywhere from 3-5 hours). I met up with a few travellers I had been bumping into and we took to the river. Not less than 100 meteres in poles were being extended to us and we were being pulled into riverside bars. Each one had a similar set up of large rope swings and beers. The second one we stopped at served food and had volleyball nets, so I had lunch and engaged in some physical activity. So over an hour had passed before we started back on the river, at that point we had made it about 200 meters. The rest of the tubing was very relaxing, if not a little slow. I actually made some effort to move a little faster as the sun was starting to set and I was getting a little impatient. Finally as the sun was setting I made my way back into town via a tuk-tuk. That night I ate at a fabulous indian restraunt. They serve a curry with melt in your mouth chicken. I actually went back and ate there every single night for the next 4 nights, the same dish. The next day I decided I would do some casual hiking. I crossed the river into a neaby village and ended up climbing the side of a limestone mountain and doing some caving. I think it might have been my first real cave experience and it was pretty neat. Although, approaching the cave I knew the suckers were gonna try and rip me off, and it was confirmed after I left the cave. First, the little punk asked me for an entrance fee, which was small, and fair enough, then 20 meters along the path leading to the cave he says "You want me to be guide? 20,000 kip (2 dollars)" and I agree, despite my afterthought that it is a little expensive. Then, we are about to enter the cave and he asks if I need a flashlight, I tell him yes, and he gives one to me. However, it is almost out of power, so we dont' use it, and use his instead. Well, we do the tour and come out...what view, about 100 meters above the ground and I can see the whole countryside. Then he looks at me and asks me to pay, okay, so I give him 20,000 kip. Then, far above the country, young guide looks at me with expectant eyes and says, "10,000 for flashlight". Now, at this point, well, I stare. I just look at him, for probably 1 minute without saying a single thing. Then gaze out at the landscape, and look back. "Why" I ask him. "For Flashlight", he says. Then I explain to him that the flashlight didn't even work and continue to stare at him. He insists one more time. Now, by this point in being in Asia, you know confrontation doesn't really work, so, I decide to be tactful. I tell him that I'll pay him, but I'll pay him once I get back to the start. So, I take my time down the mountain, all the while thinking about how I'll play the situation out. Well, we get about 20 meters from where him and his buddy first sold me the ticket, and he asks for his money. At this point I realize that he's probably scamming me on the side and his friend isn't seeing any of the money. So, I tell him that I'll pay him over there. Well, we get there, and I say to him in Thai, "Nong...tow rai?", which is like saying "Young brother, how much is it", he lowers his head and tells me the price, which I follow up by saying "poot eek tee", which means "Could you say that again." He tells me again, I give him his money, and thank him with a smile. I don't know, but I felt good, he probably felt okay getting his money, but he definately knew that I knew. There' s a winner and it's definatley not me, but I felt satisfied with the outcome. That night I ran into an Israili girl I had met in Bangkok a few weeks before. We ended up going out to this campfire party and meeting a few other people. I think the next day I slept and read. I had finished this book called "Private Dancer" within a few days, and I think I did most of my reading that day. What an interesting book, it's about a foreinger who falls in love with a bar-girl in bangkok. It's very well written, and really gives an insight into the life of bar girls and into thai culture in general. Also gets you an idea of how the sex tourism industry works and how a lot of buddies get suckered out of their money. Someone recommended it to me when I was in Vietnam, however, although I think it could help someone get perspective on the life of a bar girl and some possible pit falls when dealing with them, I could see someone reading the book and generalizing the books content to all Thai girls. I felt a real sense of distrust after I read the book and I'm glad that I've met many nice Thai girls and formed a good rounded opinion before reading the book. Right, so after my lazy day the girl from Isrial and myself did a day of biking. We went to a place called the Blue Lagoon, but we did a few side trips as well to some caves. The locals in the village near the lagoon were so lovely and it was a really good ride. The lagoon itself was quite refreshing and the water was beautiful. After the swim I had some dinner, some of the better fried rice I've had, and then we started our way back into town. It was dark at this point, and the road was rough, but so was the israili girls attitude and she insisted that we ride back and not take a tuk-tuk. I'll admit, it wasn't so bad, but damn she was pushy at times. When I got back from my bike ride I went to my room and found a little surprise waiting for me. In my bag, among all my clothes, was an entire colony of ants. There must have been hundreds or thousands. It took me almost an hour to beat all my clothes. It's funny, cause the night before I saw a girl had put all her underwear out on the clothes line. Then I realized why. Overall I think Vang Vieng is one of my favorite places on my trip so far. There was even more I could have done, but it really sucks you into a lazy atmosphere so easily.

The next day I took a bus ride from Vang Vieng to Luang Prabang. The ride was about 6 hours long, and all the while we were taking corners at wild speeds far far above ground level. In fact, the entire busride was through the mountains. I don't know if I've been so afraid on a bus yet. Once in a while there'd be a little mountain village, the driver wouldn't even slow, he'd just blast his horn and hope for the best. I also had a change to speak with an elderly dannish guy who lived in Thailand 40 years ago as a pilot. He had a lot of interesting stories, and he was able to tell me a lot about Laos. One fact that he told me, that I've heard since, Laos is actually the most bombed country, per head, in the world. They had a secret war here during the Vietnamese war. A lot of local economies in Laos actually revolve around salvaging the dropped bombs. A friend of mine road in a bomb that was cut in half and used as 2 boats. I also saw a video on village people who do blacksmith work, making tools and other stuff out of bomb metal. So yeah, he kept me entertained and took my mind off the potentially lethal twists and turns along the road. We arrived in Luang Prabang at night and after booking in at a hostel went to see the night market. That night I ran into a guy I know from Victoria, I had actually seen him and his girlfriend in Vietnam once. Later that night we met two other people I went to school with in Victoria as well. The next day we went to a nearby waterfall and swam. Since then, well, I haven't done much. I went on a bike ride one day, had a massage another, and I've been on the internet a lot. This is partially due to a want to save money, but I had also planned on crossing into Thailand on the 8th, reasons due to Visa issues. However, after spending a few days here, tonight I had to make a decision. My first option was to take a slow boat to a neaby town, a trip that would take close to 9 hours. Then the next morning take another 9 hour ride to the border. Despite the whole boat ride experience, something about it didn't seem appealing. I've heard it's crowded and rather boring, and I'd been holding off booking. Tonight I met a couple of girls from Holland, one of whom had just come from Thailand and who took a different route. She came along by bus through Northern Laos. Tommorow morning I embark on a 3-4 hour bus ride to the northern town of Nong Khiaow. From there to Muang Ngoi, and then over to Luang Nam Tha (about a 6 hour journey from Nong Khiaow). From Luang Nam Tha I plan to take a bus to the Lao-Thai border of Xuay Xai. This road is apparently not so great and the Dutch girls lonely planet claimed the ride would be 9 hours, apparently it was 6. So, with this new itinerary in mind, I set out for adventure. Depending on how it goes, I should be in Chiang Rai in Thailand somewhere between the 10th and the 12th. I'm not too sure how much internet access occurs up there, so it'll probably be a fairly large blog again when I return.

Advertisement



5th March 2007

Your chill`n adventure
Hey Brodie.Sounds like the river tubing was a great new way to enjoy a few beers. Have a beer........ cool off in the water........... then have a beer.........cool.....beer......cool.......my kind of trip.Don`t think I would have liked the ant experience......sounds like a lot of work to make sure they are all out of your stuff....even then not sure if they are??? well guess you have to take the good with the bad.........As usuall you are meeting lots of very interesting people and picking up lots of info ..weather useful or not .........all is knowledge to be tucked away.... Sounds like you are still enjoying every day and not in a hurry to return home.We miss you a lot but are very happy you are having such a fantastic trip.Not to much going on here...Donna and I had a week away on the Island....toured around and had a really good time.went to live theater...visited friends etc....Now back to work for a while..................Miss you, stay safe....Love Dad & Donna xoxox
5th March 2007

I threw up in front of the whole bus on the road to Luang Prabang. Woo, good times.

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.06s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb