Savanna....Zzzzzzzzz Zzzzzzzz


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » South » Savannakhet
September 6th 2008
Published: September 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Where did everybody go? hello.........hello.... No folk around here!! Only overgrown weeds and stray dogs.!! the dogs are so relaxed here you can walk past a pack late at night and not even hear a wimper.!

Welcome to Savannakhet the very quiet river front town.......

Nic - Just a short stop here to take in the relaxed atmosphere and marvel at the crumbling old French buildings left over from years gone by! The perfect place for a sunset beer with the locals on the banks of the Mekong and watch the elders playing "patang" (just like the french Boules/Patanq....reminded me of many a childhood holiday...decided to give the playing a miss though as a bit out of practice these days!)

Dan - Hunger can make a man very crazy indeed..........but fortunately I've never been in that situation!! So when we made a pit stop on the local bus (Hungry as we had to skip breakfast) and were offered a stick full of crickets I never thought Nic would even dare try one let alone buy her OWN 2 sticks and eat the whole lot and simple say "hmmm, they were nice" ............... see pics!!

Nic - What a whimp!......I made a pact with myself when we came to South East Asia, In that as we'd be open to all these weird and wonderful opportunities I had to make the most of them and try everything that was within my grasp...afterall, I may never get the chance again (and I really wouldn't want to be sitting at my desk in 3 years time thinking "I wonder what a cricket tastes like!")...so yep, I gave them a go....Taste like....no not chicken...prawns...Yummy!!!

Just a few pics for you...........

Us
xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



16th September 2008

GROSS
Nic, you are gross! But well done, you must have bigger balls than Dan! Miss you guys xxxxx
4th October 2008

Oh No
We are moving to this town....soon! It looks a bit sleepy for expats! :) Breakfast looks good....

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb