The Four Thousand Islands


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » South » Don Det
May 21st 2012
Published: May 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Located on the Mekongs widest stretch of the river, the emerald green waters welcomed me to days of relaxation in a hamock outside my own bungalow, next to the river. I could have stayed here for days, lying in my hamock with my beer lao sleeping, reading, watching the river, sweating and getting up every hour to take a shower or jump in the cool water. I went and saw the Khon Phapheng Falls (the largest waterfall in south east asia) and Tat Somphamit falls. I went kayaking and cycled around the island visiting the falls and beaches. At night the town came somewhat alive and people came out of their hamocks to chill on the beach and listen to some music next to the fire. I could have stayed here a few more days but I was excited to return to the civilisation, westernisation, democracy and english speaking Bangkok, with its shopping centres, western food and cinemas.

Laos is a beautiful country. Although it is still developing, poor, communist and full of dirt roads and shacks, the people there are soo friendly and chilled out. Their smiles are genuine and their hearts are big and welcoming. Laos is definitely a beautiful country and Im so glad I went.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 47; dbt: 0.036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb