Champasak


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » South » Champasak
March 25th 2014
Published: April 29th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Ferry crossing to Champasak.[/caption



I heard of a Khmer temple in a small town of Southern Laos called Champasak and decided to check it out. As soon as the bus dropped me off, I had fallen for this place. It was a sleepy town with amazing scenic views. A ferry took me across the Mekong and off to Champasak I went. Champasak is a town frozen in time. The streets were aligned with French Colonial architectures. There were barely anyone on the street. There were absolutely no tourist attractions in this town other than Vat Phu. The locals were extremely laid back. It took me a bit of time to locate local foods, but it was simple and delicious. Every meal included sticky rice. I've developed my love for sticky rice here in Laos. After three days of cruising the rice fields on bicycle, I feel refreshed and ready to continue...



Vat Phu:











Vat Phu is not as popular as Angkor Wat, but is still an interesting historical relic left behind by the Khmer people. Vat Phu was built around 6 century AD. Originally a Hindu temple it has since then been changed into a Buddhist temple. Not a lot to see, but worth the time if you are in Laos and want to escape the touristy areas.






Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0677s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb