Transport in Laos


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » North
December 2nd 2008
Published: December 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ok, so the plan was to write in this blog often, but that's not going to happen. I do, however, have a snapshot of some adventures of Laos transport in order of event.

Pickup truck - Slammed into and mounted kerb. Jeff jarred his knee. I had a pole poke into my back. We are fine.

Then, out boat crashed into a submerged rock. And I listened really hard for Celine Dion but maybe she doesnt know where Laos is.

Then, our first bus got a flat an hour prior to arrival in destination.

Then, our second bus left bus depot right on time at 2000 hours, got fuel at 2001 hours, left fuel pump at 2046, then at 2047 we got a flat. At 2048, a local man got on the bus and sat 2 rows infront of us with an A-K47 flung over his shoulder. All other locals were at the front of the bus, we were on the back seat so we could stretch out. Jeff said he would be able to kick the back of the bus window out if need be. This local man slept with gun by his side. On the same bus, the driver realised 5 hours into the trip that he was heading the wrong way and that the 2 foreigners were not going to the same place as all the locals. Also on the same bus, our driver pulled up behing a truck that had broken down. We stayed there for two hours doing nothing. It took all this time for our driver to grow some balls and overtake the truck.

Then, on motorbike on way to a cave with a lagoon in it, we were stopped by locals who offered us Lao Lao (local rice whisky and also rude to refuse). So we stopped, and you know, we never saw that cave. Also, lost shoe on back of bike, never to be seen again.

Then, when tubing, I did something very very stupid and now I cant walk. My arse hurts, my right leg is stuffed, I have massive bruise on my flank and I dont think I'll be able to squat on the squat toilets.

And one more thing that has nothing to do with transport. The numbers for eight and nine in Lao is pronounced: Bad Cow. I love it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0298s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb