Killing time at the airport


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan
April 7th 2006
Published: April 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well yesterday wasn't as nice as the day I got into Kagoshima. It was overcast most of the day and then rained a bit at night. I started the day out taking my film in to get developed and then checked out the Kagoshima city aquarium. It was certainly the most I've spent to see a 'tourist attraction' and not really worth it. The highlight, or at least the reason I decided to check it out, was because of the whale shark they had. But when I saw it swimming around in that tiny tank, it was more depressing than anything else. Afterwards I headed back across to Sakurajima and rented a bike to see more of the island. It was a hell of a workout going up some of those hills and of course the bike only had one gear. I couldn't get any closer to the actual volcano crater, there's actually no way to, short of taking a helicopter up to the summit. After my bike trek, I tried out the onsen at the hotel in Sakurajima. It was something. I could tell there were a couple of people surprised to see a foreigner there, but I never really felt that uncomfortable. The water was super-heated and I was only in for about 15-20 minutes, but I continued to sweat for about a hour afterwards and my skin was red for another two hours. On the ferry back to the mainland, I met Cory from California, who was at the start of a one year trek through Japan. She was super cool, super nice and very cute 😊 so we met later on for dinner and then spent the evening exchanging stories and our own observations about Japan. This morning I packed up my stuff, picked up the last of my film from the developer then ran to catch the airport shuttle. Right now I'm just killing some time before my flight for Okinawa leaves. The weather is beautiful here and I'm hoping it holds up. Talk to you soon!

Advertisement



7th April 2006

Hey SEXY,
So glad you are having a good time...Enjoy every minute of it - YOU ONLY LIVE ONCE so live life to its fullest.. Tara

Tot: 0.312s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0837s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb