Sayonara Japan


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan
May 1st 2009
Published: May 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi fellow readers

Just a short note to say hello to all, after being net-less again for a while.
Since I wrote last I've been to Kyoto, Hiroshima, Himeji, and Kobe. Now I'm sitting at Kansai airport waiting to spend a horrendous amount of time in the air getting to Paris.
I'll find the time to write more about Japan in the air!

You have to hand it to the Japanese. If anyone else needed a new airport, they'd build it on farmland two hours out of town. Kansai airport is built on an island that they made from scratch, at least a km from shore. I have no idea where you get all that soil and rock from, but they have. There's two runways, a huge terminal, and plenty of concrete and steel...

The picture you see is of (Miny) Mai, whom I have just spent two days with in Kobe. She likes this photo because it makes her look tall. In reality, her head comes up to my shoulders! Yesterday, we went up the mountain above Kobe to the onsen area and I enjoyed a public bath that was 42 degrees. I reckon I lasted 4 minutes in the water before deciding against a meltdown in a foreign country again...

Ok time to move out to the boarding gate. A 15 minute journey...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.282s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb