Thank You For All The Fish


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan
August 2nd 2008
Published: September 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sayonara StreamersSayonara StreamersSayonara Streamers

trying to keep a firm grip on the steamers and my emotions in check as the boat slowly pulled away from the Uoshima port for the final time
Colorful streamers filled the air as they slowly unraveled from the hands of their holders and into the firm grip of mine. They fluttered through the air and led my eyes into those of the waving crowd of friends, co-workers, students, neighbors and acquaintances that filled the meager Uoshima dock and walkway. Everyone that had been a part of my life for those two amazing years was there, including old teachers who had transferred to city schools and had made the long journey back to the island once more to say goodbye. It was unlike anything I have ever experienced or seen before and it moved me to a point beyond words.

Sarah and my good friend Mr. Kuroda were at my side consoling me and recording the entirety of the teary spectacle at the hands of their cameras. As the boat continued its slow departure from the port the unforgettable tune of Deep Purples “Smoke on the Water” began to blare from the ferries loud speakers. It’s funny how a song that I never thought I would want to hear again could have meant so much to me at that moment. In a way, it has become my theme
Sayonara Streamers 2Sayonara Streamers 2Sayonara Streamers 2

the whole island came out to say goodbye...
song and it will continue to remind me of this small island that I came to know as a home and all the people that I came to know as friends over the course of those two years.

As tears slowly continued to roll down my face and the boat continued its way out of the harbor my waving friends slowly began to fade into the meshwork of the island. Eventually they disappeared entirely and I watched the island as it also slowly faded into the mist of the inland sea. It was only until that moment that I truly realized that I would never be going back. The thought of it was once again enough to make my eyes well up with tears as I tried to explain to Mr. Kuroda how sad it was to be leaving in an almost unintelligible burst of emotional Japanese.

He stood by my side with his always-friendly smile spread across his face as he told me not to be sad. He was happy that we had the chance to meet and become such good friends and even though I was leaving I would always live on in his memories. It
My Final ViewMy Final ViewMy Final View

goodbye Uoshima, goodbye friends and thank you for a fantastic 2 years
was a moment to cherish and remember fondly and that’s the way it will always remain.

Goodbye Uoshima, goodbye friends and thank you for everything.

“I know, I know I will never forget” (Deep Purple “Smoke on the Water”)



Additional photos below
Photos: 60, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Sarah Me and Ikina IslandSarah Me and Ikina Island
Sarah Me and Ikina Island

the place we met =)
The Boat Crew The Boat Crew
The Boat Crew

After my last ride on the New Uoshima 2. The islands ferry and my life line for the past 2 years.
PuriKura ZonePuriKura Zone
PuriKura Zone

enter with caution
Blinded By The LightBlinded By The Light
Blinded By The Light

purikura madness
Purikura Purikura
Purikura

commemorating our last night in Japan in the photo booths
Tight Squeeze Tight Squeeze
Tight Squeeze

a lotta luggage
Gaurd DutyGaurd Duty
Gaurd Duty

struggling to pack our lives in bags and carry it home
Ze DudesZe Dudes
Ze Dudes

prior to derry dropping his pants in front of the whole ferry, my principal, vice principal and co-workers for his farewell salute
UoshiMAXUoshiMAX
UoshiMAX

the final practice
UoshiMAXUoshiMAX
UoshiMAX

the best band in the seto naikai baby!
Sarah's 10 Point DiveSarah's 10 Point Dive
Sarah's 10 Point Dive

our last dip in the warm waters of the seto naikai
Evening Anglers Evening Anglers
Evening Anglers

I'll miss this view
Haaro KitteiHaaro Kittei
Haaro Kittei

just like the compact
Ka-pu Ka-pu Hiroshima Ka-puKa-pu Ka-pu Hiroshima Ka-pu
Ka-pu Ka-pu Hiroshima Ka-pu

cheering on our baseball team
Hiroshima IchibanHiroshima Ichiban
Hiroshima Ichiban

getting ready for the 7th inning madness at Hiroshima Stadium
Getting ReadyGetting Ready
Getting Ready

pre-balloon launch


8th September 2008

isoagshii Esan! hisashiburiiii! where are you now?

Tot: 0.576s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 18; qc: 88; dbt: 0.0951s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb