The Adventure Begins


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan
April 25th 2007
Published: April 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Last night I arrived at Huis Ten Bosch. Huis is pronounced “house”. After an eleven and a half hour flight to Osaka, Japan I had a four hour lay over at the airport awaiting my next hour and fifteen minute flight to Fukuoka. My first stop after my flight into Osaka was to get a bite to eat in the local McDonalds. I needed to make sure I can at least get a taste of home while I was away. I was surprised on how cheap everything was. A Big Mac value meal cost 580 yen. We get 115 yen for one American dollar so eating a Big Mac value meal was less than 5 bucks. I also found an interesting wind-up toy clown in the Osaka airport that looked remarkably like I do as a clown so I had to buy it. The lady at the counter told me that the clown was a famous character in Osaka.

After my flight into Fukuoka it was great to see my contact, Taiko ready to pick me up at the airport. It felt like I was flying for days so I was pretty tired on my arrival. I also met
Famous Osaka CharacterFamous Osaka CharacterFamous Osaka Character

Kinda looks like me doesn't it?
another performer, Jeff who will be juggling at the park. After not too long we were given our two week per diem in Japanese yen and taken to a convenience store for last minute needs. Taiko took me out to dinner at a coffee shop where I signed a few forms and got the keys to my apartment and bicycle. Unfortunately, the area I’m living has no wireless internet and I can only connect when I go into the office so I will try to keep adding to my travel blog as often as I can.

After a good night sleep we will be given the grand tour and orientation so I’m sure my next blog will have lots to report. So far I’m absolutely thrilled to be given this opportunity to work in Japan for the next three months. Please make sure your subscribed so you can get regular email updates.




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Home Cooked Breakfast in DormHome Cooked Breakfast in Dorm
Home Cooked Breakfast in Dorm

mmmmm bacon eggs and home fries.
The employee Cafeteria Is Pretty Good TooThe employee Cafeteria Is Pretty Good Too
The employee Cafeteria Is Pretty Good Too

Udon, miso soup, and curry over rice


29th April 2007

Happy Happy Arrival
Glad to hear you got there safe and sound. That clown does look like you, weirder and weirder. I guess Scype won't work as well as you hopped with no wireless connection. At least we can keep in touch this way. Good luck on your first day!
29th April 2007

Skype-the best worldwide phone service
In this part of Japan wireless is very limited. But you still can connect at internet cafes.
30th April 2007

Mr. Sparkle
Are you going to become famous when they think you ARE that clown? Sounds like you are going to have great time over there! Thanks for sharing your blog, so we can follow your adventure.
30th April 2007

Kewl
Glad you arrived safe! How far is the internet cafe or the office from your dorm? If it's close enough, and if you can get permission, you could install a wireless hub at their location and pick it up at your dorm. At least you've got some connectivity! Hopefully I'll be able to contact you in June while I'm over there!

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb