Final-Freaking-ly Part 2


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Yamanashi » Tsuru
August 6th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Walking to Tsuru UWalking to Tsuru UWalking to Tsuru U

On the way to our orientation..
Since I'm sure people didn't want to slog through a giant blog post, I split this one into two, maybe more. We'll see. Deal with it.

Aaanyway, The day after my last post was Friday, I believe (days are ok to keep track of now. I think I have a pretty solid grasp), and the day after we had an orientation - just some tips about living in japan, some information on our classes, the schedule for the next few days, and a little campus tour. The campus is only about the size of two colleges on UCSD campus. Probably most akin to Warren and Sixth, since those are the boonies of UCSD.

After the orientation, one of the program organizers had made lunch for us. I forget the name, but the dish is cold noodles which you dip into a salty broth and slurp. A lot. It was amazing and delicious. Slurping is an important part of eating here, and we are enjoying it quite heartily.

The next day, five of us and two of the tutors took the train to Akihabara, a city in Tokyo. Now, if you haven't been in Tokyo... well, there needs to
Walking to Tsuru UWalking to Tsuru UWalking to Tsuru U

On the way to our orientation..
be a new word for the amount of sensory input forced on you walking around Tokyo....
...
...
...
Obstecranterrific...al.

Tokyo is obstecranterrifical. If there was just a lot of people, I could deal with that, but the lights and sounds and signs and people and heat and humidity are just RIDICULOUS. We went into a huge electronics store and I was COMPLETELY overwhelmed by the time we got in there, and my brain basically quit on me. Regardless, I was able to successfully purchase an electronic dictionary to look up my Japanese words. We walked around town for a while, went into an arcade and a strange costume shop. The costume shop was just..... strange. I had no idea why we had ended up there, but we did.

As well, we went into a big anime store that had professional voice over actors/actresses doing voice overs for an anime. It was pretty interesting to watch. It was really strange to see some of those voices come out of actual peoples' mouths - but it looked like a lot of fun!

At the end of the day we stumbled onto a music shop, and I was able
Tsuru UTsuru UTsuru U

Observatory!
to find a little gizmo that I can plug my bass into and it amplifies it through a pair of headphones. It was awesome because it was only $35. What is really surprising tho, is that it came with a pair of killer headphones and an extra input jack so you can plug in your laptop or Ipod and play along with the music. I realize most people don't care that much about this, but I'm way stoked about it.

Ok I think this'll do for now. Sunday I went to a big ol' festival, so I'll talk about that in the next post - it'll be easier to post pictures that way.

To the next post!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Tsuru UTsuru U
Tsuru U

A building!
Tsuru UTsuru U
Tsuru U

Lunch!
Tsuru UTsuru U
Tsuru U

Slurpin!
Japanese SignsJapanese Signs
Japanese Signs

One of my favorite signs so far
out for sakeout for sake
out for sake

We went out to a restaurant friday night for a little sake
Voice Over-ersVoice Over-ers
Voice Over-ers

A form of Japanese Minimum-security prison in Akihabara
Ukeleles!Ukeleles!
Ukeleles!

Sweet hello Kitty Ukelele in the music store
Ukeleles!Ukeleles!
Ukeleles!

Fender-style Ukelele
Thomas the Japanese Tanker Engine?Thomas the Japanese Tanker Engine?
Thomas the Japanese Tanker Engine?

Sweet photo op spot on the way back from Tokyo
Thomas the GANGSTA engine!Thomas the GANGSTA engine!
Thomas the GANGSTA engine!

Thomas will CUT you!


6th August 2007

Did you check out the seven story sex shop in Akihabara? Look for something called a "Tenga Cup." I will let you discover those on your own!!
6th August 2007

All right. I'm curious. Melissa? Tenga cup?
6th August 2007

Aah! Google is too accurate! Beware!

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb