Mixing business with pleasure!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Shinjuku
October 27th 1989
Published: August 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Due to a fortunate happenstance I gained another chance to visit Japan through my job in Sydney. This was an unexpected but pleasant surprise as I settled back into Sydney life after spending two years overseas. I was lucky to get a job in an oil exploration company thanks to a friend, and it was a great feeling to get back on my feet financially after my travels. Life certainly takes many interesting twists and turns as the years roll by.

My job in the company, dear reader, started in the print room but the manager asked if I would consider a job as a Technical Assistant, despite the fact I didn't possess a science background unlike the rest of my colleagues. I was offered the position which involved assisting the geologists and geophysicists in their roles exploring for potential oil and gas deposits, and after a year at the company my manager asked if I'd be interested in accompanying two professionals on a business trip to Tokyo, where he thought I could facilitate business meetings due to my Japanese language skills.

I could hardly believe my luck when I boarded the Tokyo bound flight with my colleagues. I
Kimono parade, TokyoKimono parade, TokyoKimono parade, Tokyo

My friends and I enjoyed the traditional parade while visiting Tokyo.
explained to them that I was far from fluent in the Japanese language, and very rusty from lack of practice since leaving Japan in December 1987. They didn't seem concerned by my confession, and after an uneventful flight we arrived at Narita airport and quickly cleared customs. I struggled even to ask the taxi driver to open the boot in Japanese and my colleague raised an eyebrow at my rusty linguistic skills, but everything was fine as I ironed out the cobwebs and the driver took us to the Hilton hotel in Shinjuku.

This was my old stomping ground, well I should clarify by saying Shinjuku cause I certainly don't mean the Hilton! I was excited to be back in Tokyo for the third time but the change in personal circumstances for this trip was extraordinary. We checked into our luxurious rooms and settled in for a week of meetings. Everything was well organised in typical Japanese fashion, we were provided with the company address details before a waiting taxi dropped us off at the relevant company. Riding in an air-conditioned taxi was a far more comfortable way of travelling in Tokyo compared to battling the crowds on the train as I did in 1987, and I think my previous experience living in Japan helped to smooth the introductions leading into our business meetings.

I was lucky to have a friend living in Tokyo at the time, and she popped into the hotel occasionally for a meal and a chat after work. Living in Japan can be very intense for a foreigner, and as we had both experienced that intensity I think she was grateful for the company. Of course my main focus was looking after my colleagues, and it was fascinating to watch the change come over them as the week progressed. When it comes down to it Tokyo is definitely one of the most exciting cities in the world. It is a city of bright lights, bustle and buzz; and after our meetings we went to restaurants in Shibuya and Shinjuku for a taste of Tokyo nightlife.

The locals were very friendly and we had a great time in the Japanese capital. The restaurants served up scrumptious meals which we enjoyed with a few drinks, and we also fraternised with local Japanese or business contacts enjoying a night out as well. Everything was paid on
Boarding the ShinkansenBoarding the ShinkansenBoarding the Shinkansen

The bullet train is a Japanese icon.
the company tab, and the guys didn't seem to be operating on a strict budget from what I could gather. Sometimes previous travels can feel like a dream which only seem to live on in the memory banks, so it was great being back in Tokyo to revisit the many wonderful experiences provided by this great world city. I realised my presence wasn't essential to the meetings coming to a successful conclusion, so there was no pressure to become more involved.

We also enjoyed a kimono parade while in Tokyo, and it was great to share some of the marvelous traditions that help make Japan a unique country in the world. Tokyo is a very exciting city and I'm confident my colleagues had an enjoyable trip. Business was not very demanding during our visit and we got to experience some of the sights, sounds and cuisine of one of the world's great cities while enjoying traditional Japanese hospitality. Whether you visit Japan on business or for pleasure, basically all of you should be here now!


I'm not an investor. People always tell me, you should have your money working for you. I've decided... I'll do the work, I'm gonna let the money relax!" Jerry Seinfeld


It's home time so until next time, I'm signing off for now

Tom

Note: Feel free to post comments on this site, or click on the subscribe button for notification of upcoming travel journals

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0655s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb