Tokyo under cover cops


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Shibuya
April 6th 2006
Published: April 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Tokyo's Cherry BlossomTokyo's Cherry BlossomTokyo's Cherry Blossom

Stacy,my lovely girlfriend, says hi
Hi everyone

Mike, so what happened with Tokyo’s undercover police ?? jaywalk !! spitting !! busy hands !!, or unnecessary roughness during traffic hours !!. nope nope nope, none above. I was maybe a little bit emotional but not enough to get myself in trouble. I didn’t do anything wrong and just forgot to bring my passport with me and they weren’t happy with it. WHY!! I don’t know but was told by the undercover cops that I should carry my passport or an alien ID. Anyways, story cut short. I was busy taking pictures during the morning rush hours and maybe to them I’m might be a spy or a burglar. I was confronted twice by the undercover cops.
First time, I simply ignored two undercover cops and they were not friendly at all. They wanted me to go to the police station with them and I refused because I questioned their “professional identity” and also they grabbed my right arm. I was upset and then screaming in the train station and asked “Anyone speaks English”. Well, it worked and they eased off. After about 20 minutes of tug of wars, they finally agreed to go to the station office to verify their identity. We went to the station and they were real cops. Since I didn’t have my passport, I showed them my Washington State driver’s license and then they decided to let me off the hook. I was happy to be off the hook and had decided that rush hours experience was DUMB and it was time to go back to my home stay’s place.
Well, for some reasons, the undercover cops knew about “me”. YES, indeed, my luck, I was stopped again and this time was three undercover cops and the history repeated back again within 30 minutes. I was OUT and realized that this was not good. They had asked same question “do you have a passport” and my answer was “NO” and hello, I had one earlier, excuse me, I was questioned once already. The communication between “Mike & secret agents” was not so good because they don’t English and I don’t speak Japanese at all. But they insisted that I was able to speak Japanese and lied to them. Again, Mike wasn’t happy at all and then my emotion level climaxed up again. I was loud and they were up tight. I was told many times to keep my voice down but it was very hard not to defend for myself. Luckily, thanks LORD, they called an interpreter to help me out. The interpreter came to the train station and he asked me questions and I answered. Finally, they agreed to call my home stay MOM to verify my status. When the interpreter called my Japanese OKAASAN (mom), she told him about me and also mentioned to him that I went out earlier to experience “man-in-den-sha”  means crowded train loads. He hung up the cell phone and then said something to the cops. They were smiling and probably were thinking “DUMB American Tourist”. They were very nice after the phone call and helped me to get on the train. I THANK GOD for looking out for me.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

I love my jobI love my job
I love my job

I do this every morning. They call me " the pusher"


Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb