Tokyo in the dark...


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Shibuya
June 24th 2008
Published: July 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The cutest bench ever...The cutest bench ever...The cutest bench ever...

I wanted to steal it...tottemo kawaii ne...
Last year I did not experience too much of the Tokyo nightlife...so this year, I aimed to see what Tokyo had to offer once the sun set...

Night One
Met up with my friend Yana from my Japanese class in London and two of her friends. Drinking first at an English pub, Kelvin and I were very much hoping that they served actual pints, which they did but at ridiculously expensive prices.
The glass sizes for beer in Japan are so small...I think it may be about them not being able to handle as much alcohol? This is what my Japanese friend told me anyway. Still, it is not fair and completely rubbing it in when you get your beer with a massive head on it...

Finished the night at a horror themed izakaya called the Lock Up, which had a brilliant offer of 50%!o(MISSING)ff of all drinks...of course we abused this! Ordered some sort of shots that came in the form of pills that you then squeezed the liquid into your mouth...so strong! Also, at maybe halfway through the night, all the lights switched off leading into some strange J-pop music blasting out loud and people dressed up as monsters coming round to all the rooms, trying to be scary but mainly posing for photographs...

Night Two
After trying out this American diner, and Kelvin ordering the most expensive steak by mistake (the menu was in Japanese! Thought it was meat pizza!) we managed to cancel the whole order and quickly leave to eat somewhere else with my Japanese friend Hiroki.

Many many drinks later, from convenience stores as well, we ended up in some techno/trance club, which of course I loved. I had been needing a good dance for way too long.

Getting back to the hostel however was a mission. Kelvin was not with it at all, so I had to find the way. After falling asleep on the train and ending up somewhere completely random the other side of Tokyo, like a zombie I guided Kelvin (and myself) to what I thought was the correct train.
Fortunately I am a genius (even when drunk) and got us back to the hostel at some silly hour in the morning...saying ohayo (morning!) instead of oyasumi (night!) to other people there...

Night Three
ATM...rain...ATM...rain...ATM...rain...ATM...izakaya...finally!! It took a while to find a cash machine
Last stop...Last stop...Last stop...

Last place before going home...
that would let me draw out money!
This night was spent with Eri, Yoko and some more of their friends. (Last year with Eri - And she's off again... AND I have decided..I'm not coming home...)
The evening mainly consisted of laughing at language misunderstandings...always fun!

Night Four
Izakaya (I really cannot get enough) again but this time with Minako and Mayumi. (Last year with Minako - Time for some countryside...)
She also gave me the bowls that I hand made last year, and they had been beautifully painted in the colours that I chose...both are slightly lopsided...I call it Art...


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Checking for last train times...Checking for last train times...
Checking for last train times...

Eri looking a little worried...
Busy busy in Shibuya...Busy busy in Shibuya...
Busy busy in Shibuya...

Far busier than the last train in London...
Bashing heads...Bashing heads...
Bashing heads...

Such a strange deja-vu moment, as Eri and I did exactly the same thing last year...
The new pose...The new pose...
The new pose...

Apparantly this is the up and coming pose in Japan...
Some effort...Some effort...
Some effort...

...but with a bad result. That is a RUBBISH heart Kelvin...
My favourite pose...My favourite pose...
My favourite pose...

...forever and ever more...


6th July 2008

Im so quick
You really are afreak xx (PIB)
6th July 2008

Be safe !!
Glad to see you are looking after Kelvin.........!!! Love the photos reminds me of my visit, ah to have been there on the shopping day, would have loved it. Shame about the rain we are sweltering in the 100deg sunshine at Manilu. Still not long before you join us, have fun, love Okasan (mum) xxx

Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0745s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb