Obirin University


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Machida
November 3rd 2011
Published: November 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

(Sorry, to not update sooner. I’ve been a bit busy with school and haven’t traveled around. I figure why not talk about the thing that is making so busy. :D )
Obirin University (J.F Oberlin University) is a private Christian university. It is located in Machida-Shi, Tokyo, Japan. It is quite a small university, especially when compared to the U.T. The university also has a high school that is located right next to it. Literally less than five minutes from the main part of campus. For the foreign exchange students almost all the classes are held in two buildings, Meimeikan and Gakujikan. The two are across the street from each other. The campus has two cafes; I have only eaten at one. (It’s super cheap, but kind of greasy.) A lot of students either bring their lunch (bentos) or buy it at the conbini or co-op. There is also bakery (pan-ya) near campus, along with a variety of other eateries. Obirin has a diverse selection of clubs/circles. They have athletic and cultural. From what I have seen and experienced the clubs are very welcoming to foreign exchange students and are more than happy to teach them if they have no experience.
Right now students are preparing for the school festival, which will take place next week, starting on Thursday. Students get Thursday and Friday off for the festival. The festival will have a wide selection of things going on. Live music, food stands, performances, etc.
Something random that I noticed about Obirin, is that when I have late classes (ones that are after 4pm) most of the lights in the buildings are shut off. I will walk out of class into unlit hallways and just navigate my way to escalator. I found it unusual because at U.T the lights are on, always, everywhere. I was warned at the orientation about the school’s efforts to use less electricity because of earthquake. Though everything has settled from the earthquake, people are still asked to conserve electricity.
Overall, I’m so happy with my decision to go to Obirin. I love the small campus, the faculty and staff is amazing and super helpful, and the students here are very open with the foreign exchange students!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.06s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb