The Beginning


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Ikebukuro
October 8th 2008
Published: October 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After leaving my friends and family in England on 7th October and travelling many, many hours, I arrived at Narita airport in Japan on October 8th. I managed to get some sleep on the plane but not much as the woman sat behind me on the flight may have missed the point of a touch screen tv, the operative word being TOUCH, and not POINT AS HARD AS YOU CAN. Anyways at the airport I got the directions to Ikebukuro, where my first hostel would be. I had to get 2 trains from Narita airport to Ikebukuro. On the 1st train, I asked a man on also on the train where I had to get off for the change over to the line for Ikebukuro. He spoke English really well and it turned out he was getting the same train and had been on the same flight from England as me! Wemade our way from the 1st train to the 2nd and he told me what stop to get off at. WIt worked out quite well. I assumed lots of people in Japan would speak English. Actually I was quite lucky to find someone who could help me so much to start off with as it turned out hardly anyone speaks English here and I speak no Japanese. Not such a good combination!

I walk around in my own little world, smiling at people. Its mad (I also cant find the apostrophe button on the keyboard). To get around, I find myself holding a map and approaching people saying "this, this?". I was sure I would speak to some people who spoke English at the hostel though, turned out not. On my first night I shared a room with 5 Japanese girls who spoke no English. It was just little old me in Tokyo on my own. Not quite sure what I expected though but its pretty mad!

All I can say at the moment is Tokyo seems like a really cool place!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb