Getting there and settling in


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Ikebukuro
November 9th 2007
Published: November 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Notes from the Land of the Rising Sun
{Written by an ignorant foreigner}

09/11/2007



Ohiyo gozaimasu!

I‘ve been in Tokyo for 2 nights and i‘m very much enjoying the place.  The flight was yucky and I was a complete wet at the airport so thankfully I did not invite more of you to see me off.  Customs etc were very straightforward but I was taking my time so much that the baggage collection was already closed! Luckily by backpack was waiting patiently for me nearby.

I took the ‘friendly airport limousine‘ (ooo, living it up?, no, it‘s just a bus that took me to the area i‘m staying at.) It took 1.5 hours but i got to see a bit of countryside before getting into the city on the chunky concrete expressways.

The next few hours I must say were very exhausting and unenjoyable.  check in was not til 3, and my backpack was heavy, in the way and everyone was STARING! was very hungry as had not eaten on the plane and found every menu and sign to be in Kanji characters. finally found a place to eat.  After That i was just wandering around-- there are absolutely  NO BENCHES around here.my poor little footsies were aching.

Finally got to check in and instantly felt better because the ryokan (japanese style inn) is absolutely beautiful!

After a little rest I went for a walk through Ikebukuro and worked out how to call home. Tokyo is same time as perth but the sun goes down at around 4;30 found a sort of bench (a steel rail) near the station and listened to the buskers for a while, eating my hot chips in their 3 layers of packaging. went up what is said to be the tallest escalator in the world, very wow.  Then back to hotel to sleep.



Next day made all sorts of leaps and bounds:
caught the train (ticketing chaos)
visited the imperial palace (well, was permitted to look at it from a distance)
saw tokyo international forum (very impressive architecture, if a little useless?)
bought my own set of chopsticks in ginza (they have bunnies on them)
visited a department store in ginza (prices are very high)
cooked my own noodles using the japanese instructions (did it wrong but then saved them by adding more water)
bought and wrote some postcards (have not yet sent them)


Ok, as for the language issue, it is a difficult situation and some places are better than others.  the hotel people speak english very well, although this might be why they are not as overly polite as most are.
Words/phrases i am using:
good morning
hello
thankyou
yes/no
excuse me
i‘m sorry
I will have this please
i don‘t understand!

I‘m trying to add new words each day. two things I am not bothering with are, ‘im thirsty‘ (there are vending machines EVERYWHERE, its like they‘re lost animals) and also ‘im a tourist‘, because it is very obvious.  luckily i‘m getting less stares now that i‘ve left my backpack at the hotel, and I have some idea where i‘m going.  happy also that I don‘t have blond hair.  I‘ve seen maybe 30 westerners since I got here, even at the tourist spots.


Some other things i‘ve seen or experienced:
very smart uniforms on everyone from traffic wardens to highschool sailor suits
walking trains of little japanese school kids in their bright coloured caps
The green tea machine in the hotel
heated toilet seat and a cold shower (but last night worked out how to get the hot water to come)
a swan vs koi fish fight in the moat at imperial palace
a march or strike parade through ginza with REALLY LOUD loudspeaker chants
singing things- trucks, trains and ATMs
the flower arrangements at the hotel
wooden chime toys in the department store
a few teeny dogs and one GIANT dog (up to the guys chest)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0628s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb