Harajuku Girls


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Harajuku
February 22nd 2006
Published: March 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Harajuku GirlsHarajuku GirlsHarajuku Girls

This is my favorite, I love the way they posed.
Hi!
Sorry, between travelling and jet lag I've gotten behind on my postings. These are pictures from February 19 in Tokyo with my mom. I'm actually back in Takizawa Japan. I will try to post blogs on San Francisco and life in Japan soon. Thanks to Colin's parents, we now have a reliable computer at home so we'll be able to stay in contact with everyone 😊 Although, I can't guarantee too much because I start work tomorrow. I'm anticipating a bit of an adjustment period, since I haven't worked full time in six months and am still recovering from jet lag.

Here it is, the blog many of you have been waiting for! I hope you find them as fascinating as I do.
Gwen Stefani (sorry for the pop culture reference) had not fully prepared me for their unique, crazy, sometimes scary amazing sense of style. Really, my costume for our going away party could have been much more elaborate, but the wig was dead on (thanks for convincing me Jenn). For those of you who don't know about this strange phenomena: every Sunday a select few female Tokyo teens put on outrageous outfits, hair and make-up and gather
FirstFirstFirst

She was the first to arrive and is on the phone asking her friends to hurry up.
around the Harajuku station to socialize and have their photos taken by each other and tourists. The Harajuku station is next to the Omotesando area of Tokyo, which is one of the most upscale areas of Tokyo with stores like Prada and Dior. The Harajuku area is described as "ground zero for Tokyo street style."
The teens used to gather on a pedestrian street but the government tried to deter them by turning it into a vehicle road. Instead, the teens gather on the wide sidewalk of a nearby bridge. One side of the bridge has funky, multi coloured costumes and frilly, Little Bo Peep dresses and the other side is fairly goth with lots of black leather and dark make-up. They must spend weeks preparing their costumes!
My mom and I had a great time walking between the girls watching them pose for pictures, talk on their phones, eat lunch and talk to each other. Some of them even took our picture!

I'm enjoying being back in Takizawa. There was barely any snow when I arrived, but it hasn't stopped snowing all day! It is crazy to think that I spent the last three weeks in cities that
Baby?Baby?Baby?

Kowaii (cute)
already have blossoms.
Hope you are all fantastic!
Hugs, Maddy.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

LeatherLeather
Leather

Notice the mask.
PeacePeace
Peace

Making the peace sign is very Japanese. They also say chiizu (cheese) when you take their photo!
My costumeMy costume
My costume

ha ha, thought I'd sneak this one in. I dressed up as a Harajuku girl for our going away party. Colin was a Japanese business man (pretend his suit is black)


13th March 2006

great pictures
So nice to be able to experience Japan through your blogs. Everyone is enjoying them. Glad you made it back safely. Have a good week! z
15th March 2006

This is crazy!!
Hi, I love all the pictures. It is so different to see and read about your experienc in Japan. I can't get over the different outfits. Good luck at work. I am going back to work full time next week and i haven't been full time in a year and a half. Eric is staying home. I feel what you feel but no jet lag just mommy lag! Good luck and have fun. Jane

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb