Japan Top Five


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokushima » Tokushima
August 30th 2010
Published: August 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Top Five Things that Entertain me in Japan:

5) The way a pitcher of water here is the size of an American glass of water, and the Starbucks has added a "short" size which is smaller than a tall (and so adorable). No wonder almost no one here is overweight.

4) The posh signs written in never-pluralized-English, such as a store that sells "book" or "movie" or "clothe," (okay I made "clothe" up but I wouldn't be surprised).

3) The dramatic parade music that is always blaring proudly at my grocery store. It makes me feel much more important as I'm picking out my tomatoes.

2) The cute little cartoons that sell every product, store and business in Japan - epecially the dog who bows to me when I finish using the ATM.

Number One Entertaining Thing in Japan: The Japanese people who yell "hello," "good morning" and even "hola" (I guess they found out I speak Spanish) to me on the street. At night, when the inhibitions go down, the greeting escalates to an enthusiastic high five. My absolute favorite, though, is the guy who stuck his head out of a moving bus window just to yell hello at me across several lanes of traffic.

Advertisement



30th August 2010

Great list!!
Hi Susan! Thanks for the list. It is very entertaining, and provides several windows into Japanese culture/life. It is obvious you are enjoying each and every thing. Love Dad

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb