in Osaka


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Osaka
June 30th 2006
Published: July 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, I'm in Osaka right now with my friend, David. We met on the study abroad program. My plans right now are to continue traveling west until I reach Fukuoka again on the 13th to visit my host family and see the famous festival on the 15th. Afterwards, I'm returning to Tokyo to pick up Rachel from the airport on the 18th. With Rachel, probably going to start heading west again, and end up in Osaka at the end of her two week stay. Return to Tokyo to see a famous fireworks display and put Rachel on the plane. I'll then have a week to myself, although I haven't really made any plans for it yet.
Here is my tentative schedule:

June 30th: Osaka
July 1st: Kobe
july 2nd: Kobe
july 3rd: okayama
july 4th: kurashika
july 5th: takahashi
july 6th: fukayama
july 7th: tomonoura
july 8th&9th: hiroshima
july 10th: miyajima
july 11th: twakuni
july 12th: shimonoseki
july 13th-15th: fukuoka
july 16th-20th: tokyo

keep in mind, tentative. some of these places don't have hostels registered online so i can't really book in advance. somewhat difficult. i plan to spend the night at each of these places, wake up early and continue to the next, and sightsee when I get to the next stop. i'll let you know if there are any changes. also, feel free to check maps to see where I am that day!

the place i'm staying at now is the greatest! it costs $18 a night. It comes with a bed, tv, free movie rental, $2 breakfast, free internet, etc.. Awesome. The room i'm staying in is about the size of a walk in closet. About 9'x4' if i had to guess. the floors are tatami(stray mat) and I'm sleeping on a futon. It's actually really comfortable. Unfortunately, out of the places I have been able to register for, there isn't free internet so i'll to find internet cafes or the like. i'll figure it out.

also, david is staying is osaka for a week before heading back east so yesterday was my only day traveling with him.

I can’t post picture because I already packed the cable to connects to my camera.

john

*edit. sorry about my poor grammar/spelling. ever since staying in japan, i've begun to loose my english. 😞

Advertisement



1st July 2006

Sounds like a fabulous plan. I look forward to hearing all about your journeys and seeing all of your photos. Love you. Rachel.

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.07s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb