Kansai


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Osaka
August 25th 2003
Published: October 7th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Osaka


My second trip to Japan. My first in Kansai. KIX is cool. As the plane was making its descent, I could see the airport's runway and terminal, and it was huge. It's too bad it's not full of planes like LAX. I've read about the engineering and construction of the airport, and to be finally standing on it, it was very satisfying.

I arrived in the evening (maybe 5 or 6 PM). It's been years since I've spoken Japanese, and I was afraid that people might not understand me (fortunately, I could still read, even some of the kanji).

A friend once told me, if you don't know where to go, go to the green window. That was sound advice. The green window (Midori no mado) is the name of the Japan Rail (JR) service counter. As always, the people were very polite and went out of their way to help me find my hotel (located somewhere in Nakanojima). The clerk gave me directions to the JR service counter near Nakanojima. He advised me to ask the people there for specific directions. The train was not crowded, and during the half-hour ride, I started chatting with the passenger beside me. He was a college student coming home from his trip throughout Japan. He said his whole trip took him to Hokkaido in the North all the way to Okinawa in the South. I thought that was very cool. He said my Japanese is still Ok ^_^

When I arrived in Osaka proper, it started to rain, so I bought an umbrella from a kiosk. It's a nice umbrella. Cost is about $4 US. I still have it. Not wanting to pay for a taxi, I figure I would just wander until I find the hotel. I walk around a bit looking for the Rihga Nakanojima Inn. I found it half-hour later. The walk shouldn't have been that long, but I ended up going in circles. Fortunately, a convenience market was nearby, so I bought lots of munchies for dinner.

I spent my first day in Osaka walking around Nakanojima and its surroundings. It took me a while to get familiar with the area, but by the end of the day, I had an idea of the layout of the city. On the second day, I went to the harbor. It was such a cool place to be. The aquarium and the ferris wheel was a lot of fun. Took some pictures and ate some takoyaki.

Then I went to see the castle (Osakajo). It was very interesting. I can't say a whole lot about it coz I'm not into Japanese history. After the castle, I walked around the Osaka dome area. The Osaka dome staff were setting up for some boy band concert that evening, so nobody was allowed to go in.

Then I went to the shopping district of Osaka. Oh my God! I've never so many shops in one location. It was block after block after block of stores and shops side by side. I became so tired by the time I reached the end of the shopping district.

The I took the subway to OCAT. It looks cool and all that but not too many people. Too bad.

Then I got on the train to Kyoto.

Kyoto


When I first arrived in Kyoto, I felt completely lost. I went to the information desk in the huge JR Station, and they told me to take a bus to my hotel. I did as I was told, and when I got off the bus, I couldn't see my hotel. So I started walking straight ahead. It didn't matter that I had no idea where I would end up. Fortunately, I saw a police station, and they told me where it was. (Wouldn't you know, it was the in the opposite direction ^_^)

Having settled down in my hotel, I started to walk around the area to see what is there. Kyoto is so different from Osaka. There was a subway, but buses seem to be more prolific. As I walked around, I came across one of Kyoto's temples (the one near the JR Station). Then I walked around some more. Near the station, I saw a small bike rental shop. So I decided to rent a bike for two days.

Then I went to see the Imperial Palace. But dammit, it was a weekend and they were closed :-(

The next day, I rode around the river. It was so cool. It wasn't too crowded, so it was very enjoyable. That was one of the best experiences in my life.

Later that evening, I decided to go the JR Station to get something to eat. As I was going the escalator, I saw an event that was starting. It was the 6th annual kimono designer contest. Amateur designers and students get to compete for some kind of award while cute and pretty Japanese girls model their designs. It was so cool. By the time the contest was in full swing, the whole viewing area was packed with people. Then it started to drizzle. Thankfully the contest was almost over, and most of the people remained seated with umbrella's open.

I love Kyoto.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0598s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb