Day trip to Taketomi


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Okinawa
April 11th 2006
Published: April 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So today I woke up, the sun was shining and I was ready to go and find a nice quiet beach on Taketomi-Jima, a small island off the coast of Ishigaki. I took a boat across the bay and just as I got across, the clouds rolled in once again! I decided to make the best of it, so I took the free shuttle to a bicycle rental depot and got a bike and toured the island, which really only takes about 45 minutes to circle the coast. I found a beach that had some other tourists and a huge sandbar about 40 feet out, so I waded across and chilled on the sandbar for a bit. Later on I found another beach where there was noone as far as the eye could see. All the beaches on the island are covered in tiny sea shells and coral, not really much sand, so not a very comfortable walk, but it looked really cool. The sun actually came out around 2:00, so I stayed at the beach until about 4:00, then dropped off the bike and came back to Ishigaki where I had a delicious bowl of soba! Mmmmmmm soba noodles. The weather here is quite hot and muggy, probably about 34 today with the humidity. Just have to hope the sun keeps shining! Tomorrow I'm off to Iriomote-Jima, weather permitting of course.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.106s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb