Fuji Rock Festival!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Niigata
July 30th 2007
Published: July 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So I went to the Fuji Rock Festival. 'Twas wicked.

I saw a bunch of bands play... Danced with a load of random Japanese people, basically didn't sleep the whole time... Man, I didn't know there were so many Japanese hippies. And these guys party pretty damn hard.

The bands I saw were (In no particular order whatsoever):

Kings of Leon
Muse
The Cure
Lily Allen
Jarvis Cocker
Kemuri
The Beastie Boys
Iggy & The Stooges
Kaiser Chiefs
Omar Rodriguez Lopez Group

...And some random Japanese bands whose names I cannot type.
...And that's not to mention the all-night DJs.

I met the guys who were working on bringing "Afro Punk" to Japan--It's a documentary about black punk-rockers. They were pretty cool... One of them did an interview on MTV while we were there. We hung out throughout most of the festival, and we ended up partying together a lot... I got to stay in a hotel room for one night rather than the cheap tent I bought, which was pretty sweet.

I left early on Sunday because it was raining. And I had no cash left and the ATM was closed, so I kinda didn't end up eating anything until I got back to the hostel at around 10pm.

Anyways, today I've been packing a bit and doing some last minute shopping. I'm going to head out again in a moment to do some even later last minute shopping.

Really I'd love to live in this country if I could speak fluent Japanese, as right now my only complaint is that I'm unable to talk to almost all of the locals. Apart from that, Japan has been great. Really, the people are friendly, everyone is polite and respectful, and everything in this country works, whether it be a physical or social device.

My plane leaves tomorrow at seven-something PM. So I'll see some of you guys tomorrow. Or yesterday... Or today, or something. I don't really know. Soon-ish.

This will be my last entry. Will probably be seeing Japan next year! Byebye.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0317s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb