Nara


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Nara » Nara
February 3rd 2009
Published: February 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

On Sunday I used my 4 day Kansai train pass to go to Nara. Kansai is the region surounding Osaka and Kyoto etc. I decided to follow a walking tour shown in the lonely planet, so I wandered up to Nara-Koen which is a big park in this city. Incidentally I did see some farm land on this train trip, not just bumper to bumber buildings!

The park is full of dear and visitors are allowed to feed them with the biscuits for sale. I bought some but barely had time to take the paper ribbon off them, as dear started to head butt my bum and nearly push me over! A small crowd of Japanese tourists stood watching me and laughing, I quickly handed my camera to one of them - I didn't want them getting this much fun out of me without something in return! - Just kidding, but I'm glad I got some photos!

The park was full of all sorts of shrines and temples but the most amazing thing was the Todai-Ji, which was an enormous wooden building with a massive Buddha statue inside, about 5 stories high, just massive! My picture doesn't really do it justice, but I have tried to capture it.

I spent the rest of the afternoon looking through the park...


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0219s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb