The fields have eyes


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Nagano
August 29th 2011
Published: August 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Loud speakers 17 secs
In my wanderings around the village of Tomida, and whilst driving around Takagi, I've noticed the rice farmers have a talent for creating the most creepy looking scarecrows. They remind me of a recent Dr Who episode where the scarecrows came to life. These ones all have doll faces....it really is like something out of a horror movie and I keep thinking they will move when I'm not watching them.....I'd best not linger near the fields after dusk or I may not be seen again - or maybe I'll be turned into one of the creepy dolls! The local kids are very friendly and love having their photo taken though.

Another strange thing that I'm kind of used to here is the network of loud speakers everywhere. For fans of Japanese film, it is all very Battle Royale - you have announcements every now and then, and at certain points of the day they play a little jingle. The first time I heard it I wondered what the heck was going on - apparently many people have a speak in their houses - but if I have one it must be turned off. I can hear the speakers outside quite clearly though. I suppose in the event of an emergency / earthquake etc they use them to let people know. The jingles are usually on the hour but seem to stop about 6 o clock. All the local dogs howl when it goes off.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0711s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb