Check out my wheels


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Nagano
August 11th 2011
Published: August 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Got my car this afternoon - finally I am mobile! Felt a mixture of excitement and nerves picking it up from the garage. My supervisor was so kind and braved a test run with me, so I could get used to driving an automatic. I found it weird at first, getting used to a new car and not having a clutch or gears, but after a while I loved it! Soooooo much easier! Why didn't a drive an automatic years ago?! I love my new little car. It is silver and small, and chugs a bit when it has to go up the mountain to my house, but it'll be perfect for getting me from a-b around here and I think cheap to run. I'm hiring it so if anything plays up I can get it sorted easily at the garage.

I'm off to Nagano City tomorrow and so will get the highway bus there. The stop I pick it up from is about a 15-20 minute drive away, so my supervisor very kindly rode with me there this evening so I could find the way in the morning. I hope I can remember! We joked that I'll be calling him every five minutes lost!

Sunday I'm going to try and take the car out to explore. I've also been told I don't have to work until Thursday, so I've got time off next week to chill out, plan stuff and see some of the local area.

When I drove home on my own I decided to pop out to the bigger supermarket neat Takagi and pick up a few bits and pieces. Shopping on my own was nice, but the supermarket, even though not massive, still feels bewildering. I'm limited at the moment as I can't read what the products are unless they are obvious, have pictures or have some romanji. Sigh, better get studying hard....

Advertisement



13th August 2011

Thanks for the insights
Hey Vic thanks for posting these blogs! I'm thinking of applying for the Jet program this year(in Ireland) and I'm excited to read what it is like for you over there. It does seem difficult to adjust too at first and I imagine it both daunting and rewarding having to immerse yourself in the new language. Keep em coming:-) Nige
14th August 2011

Applying for JET
Hi Nige - do it! It is amazing - let me know if you want any advice on the application/ interviews etc. Good luck! Vic

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb