Komono Marathon


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Mie
October 20th 2009
Published: October 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

This weekend my status update on Facebook was "Orphanage on Saturday, Marathon on Sunday... busy!" No kidding. This past weekend flew by! I'm feeling pretty tired this week but it was totally worth it!

The orphanage on Saturday was simply amazing. The kids had organized a sort of festival with food and dances and invited the community to come join. We weren't sure what to expect going in, but they were all very sweet and eager to play with us. I wish my Japanese had been better so I could've talked to the kids more, but I managed to start a sweet arm wrestling battle and they really liked the stickers I brought so that definitely made me happy. If we're able to do more visits hopefully my Japanese will improve each time. I've been studying pretty hard now that I've got my language books so maybe it'll start to pay off soon!

Sunday, of course, was the Komono Marathon. They have one every year and this year I decided to do the 5 km run (or 'Go Ki Ro' as they say here). The run actually wasn't too bad. For the most part it was flat, with only a tiny hill at the end. I definitely think I would've had a better time had I not made the mistake of eating an apple before the race. I figured a fruit would settle easy but it totally didn't. Ah well, now I know better for next year.

I still managed to finish in 45 mins and now I can set my goal for the 10 km next fall. It was really inspiring to have the crowds of people lined up along the road cheering for you. Even if they had no idea who you were they were still waving their flags shouting 'Ganbatte!' and trying to urge us on. All in all it was pretty fun!

I managed to get some shots from the top of the Komono Town Hall of Mt Gozaisho and the other ranges. Planning to hike it this weekend if I can. Healthy living for the win!

Anyway, enjoy the pictures and I'll try to update soon!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

This Fish Means Business...This Fish Means Business...
This Fish Means Business...

(I enjoy the ramen shop owner in the background looking at me like what the hell is that crazy foreigner doing?)


21st October 2009

Great Job
Wow great job on the marathon Jennifer... I love all the pictures, sure is a pretty country. Mom xo
26th November 2009

Way To Go!
Jenn! Congratulations on your marathon, way to go!! I know this is so one month ago, but I am just catching up on your blogs now! Miss you tons xo Laura

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0778s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb