Japanese TV is in a world unto itself


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Mie
August 27th 2009
Published: September 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Japanese TV is full of some weird shit.

I came home from a night out with other ALTs in the area, all of whom seem awesome and chill, to find that the only show on TV at the moment is some drama featuring a superhero maid who decides to take on a fetishist and a dominatrix with her sakura charm to rescue her fellow maid friend.

Oh Japan... It doesn't need to make sense as long as it's entertaining 😊

With the exception of some interesting dramas and animes like Naruto or Bleach, every other show seems to feature food. Close ups of food. Features on restaurants. Groups of people eating food and shouting "Oiishii!" (delicious!) It's really quite different from TV back home. And definitely not something you want to watch while hungry hahaha

I went out with one of the other ALTs in the area tonight and he was telling me some interesting stories tonight about kids at his schools. He has some of the lower end schools in the region where the expectations aren't very high education wise. He was telling me that in some of his classes the students openly masturbate each other (as a joke I guess?) and the teacher doesn't seem to notice or care. I've never seen anything like this at my school so I'm thinking it has more to do with the lack of discipline at his place than anything but really... Hell-o culture shock!

So far I’ve been taking steps to make myself more independent here. I managed to mail some packages at the post office on my own and buy stamps, buy clothes at the store and try them one and get new sizes, and I also went to the town hall to pick up my Gaijin Card (Alien Registration Card) on my own and people actually understood me. It was great!

Got my plans for Osaka set for September and learned from one of the girls at the shindig tonight about the Sapporo Ice Festival in February so will have to talk to Jim and look into booking that. It’s pretty close to him so he’ll no doubt want to go too.

Anyway, I should probably head to bed. I need to get up early tomorrow and look up this game Jason told me about called Civilization 4.

Oh great, more weird shit on TV. Girls dressed as Sailor Scouts? And a guy dressed as a matador fighting crime together? Oh Japan...


Advertisement



16th September 2009

Oohhhh Japan
I love it, we thought American TV was weird! Can't wait to hear more stories darling! Miss you tons xoxo Laura

Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0922s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb