Kyoto Ventures


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto
October 4th 2012
Published: October 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

A long, long time ago I fell in love with Japan. I'm not sure how or why, as I've never been there. I've trawled through my misty memories, and I don't recall a single friend who was Japanese. So right now, 40 days until my first real holiday in Japan, I sit and ask myself "Why? Why do I long for this journey so much?".

Why do I feel such an attraction to Japan? Is it the food? The culture? The history?

Why have I not been there before? I've been to many other countries, some that I had zero interest in seeing!

Did I just fall in love with "my version" of Japan, the version that I read about (damn you Eric Van Lustbader!), or saw in movies, or imagined as I ate meal after meal after meal of delightful Japanese food?

I'm not really interested in the answers to those questions. What is, is. Besides, I could reflect on the issue for ages and never be sure if the answer I come up with is the correct one.



What I can say, though, is I'm very much looking forward to my holiday. The research alone has been a wonderful and exciting experience. The resources (esp. whirlpool forums, flickr, and japan-guide.com) and technologies (esp Google Earth) available today are simply stunning - they make holiday planning a real joy.

I'm new to travelblog, having only found it about an hour ago, but I'm sure in time that I'll add this site to the thanks above.



My plan is to blog about each day of our holiday. I'd like to share my thoughts on the planning, and how the day went. Hopefully one day someone will find some of the info that I post useful in planning their own holiday. This blog will be my version of a "thank you" to all of those who helped me plan my own Japan holiday.



Everytime I read "is 2 days in Kyoto enough?" I winced in pain. How could TWO DAYS do justice to a place like Kyoto?! My planning is not complete, nor finalised, but it is close. In short, we're spending 12 days in Kyoto! As follows;



Tuesday 13th November 2012

Arrive KIX 6pm, dinner at Kappo Sou teppanyaki



Wed 14th

Imperial Household Agency (try to get bookings for Shugakuin and Katsura), explore local area (inc Nishiki, Pontocho, Teramachi, edge of Gion, department stores)



Thurs 15th

Chion-in (monthly flea market), Maruyama park, lunch @ Izuju, Sannenzaka Ninenzaka, Kiyomizu-dera (perhaps stay for night illumination), dinner @ Anji seafood



Fri 16th

Shugakuin (if get booking, otherwise spare time), Shisendo residence, Shimogamo shire, Hiro cooking class, Kanga-an secret monk's bar



Sat 17th

Nara - Kofukuji Temple, Nara National Musuem, lunch @ Maguro Koya (The Tuna Shed), Nara Park (feed the deers), Nandaimon Gate, Todoai-ji Musuem, Todoai-ji Temple, Isuien Garden, dinner @ Honke Daiichiasahi (Ramen)



Sun 18th

Daitoku-ji Temple, Kinkaku-ji Temple, lunch @ Toriiwaro, Le Petit Mec bakery, Ukai Shoten (famous Sake), Ryōan-ji Temple, spare time in afternoon, dinner @ Zezekan Pocchiri



Mon 19th

Arashiyama - Monkey Park, Yoshimura (Soba), Photos of Kitcho, Tenryuji Temple, Bamboo Forest, Okochi Sanso Garden, Gioji Temple and Moss Garden, Saga-Toriimoto Preserved Street, Hirokawa Unagi



Tues 20th

Osaka- Buy “Osaka Unlimited Pass”, Osaka Castle Museum, Walk through Shinsaibashi-suji Shopping Arcade, Kani Doraku (Crab), Tempozan Ferris wheel, Osaka Aquarium, Dotonbori street food. Takoyaki!!! Okonomiyaki!!!, Sky Building and Floating Garden. Last entry @ 10pm



Wed 21st

To-ji flea markets, Omi Steakhouse, Shigeharu (oldest knife shop), Kameya Yoshinaga (Confectionary shop),

SPARE TIME, Daigo-ji Temple for night illuminations



Thurs 22nd

Kyoto Imperial Palace, Kyoto Imperial Palace Park, Hafuu Beef, Shoyeido Insense, Nijo-jo Castle, SPARE TIME



Fri 23rd

Tofukuji Temple, Hill walk from Tofukuji to Fushimi Inari Shrine, Fushimi Inari Shrine, Tempura Yoshikawa,

SPARE TIME, A Womb



Sat 24th

Zohiko (Lacquer Ware), Museum of Traditional Crafts (Fureaikan), Heian Shrine and Garden, Nanzenji Temple and rock garden, Philosopher’s Path, Silver Pavilion (Ginkaku-ji), KOTORAN massage and high tea, train to KIX and departure



So that's it! I'll keep you posted.

Two last quick comments;

a) Please forgive the inconsistent use of "I" and "we". Assume they mean the same thing. The 'we' is Joy (my partner) and myself.

b) I have been to Japan before - a one night stop over in Narita that involved; a cold and sleepless night in Toyko, missing the last train back to Narita, following a gangsta-esque person down an alley and a few other very silly decision!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0282s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb