Hair Change! (Updated with two-days-after pics)


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto
May 29th 2006
Published: May 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

HairdoHairdoHairdo

Yeah, the glasses aren't real. But they have stitched green leather on the sides! So weird, so I occasionally have to rock out with fake glasses.
A quick post - I changed my hair! When I first got it, it was bold and terrifyingly loud, but after a day it settled down to do what normal hair is supposed to do. Han came along as photographer and moral support, and he documented the whole affair. Basically, I went in and announced that I wanted a hair cut, I wanted something interesting, and I wanted to color the tips of my hair green. Eventually, however, I backed off all these points and just asked them to do whatever they recommended for my hair. My hair-person chose a style, and then made my hair nothing like it, and then dyed it lime green (but not just the tips). The final result was something akin to David Bowie except green, but it quickly lost its color, so now I have a strange hair cut that's thin but long and highly stylable. Neat-o. Next time, though, I think I'll go for the red tint - green just makes me look kind of sickly in the wrong light. First time I ever dyed my hair, though - an interesting experience, complete with a very nice head-massage. Mmm, good times.

~Danny


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Hair dyeHair dye
Hair dye

More decision-making.
Choosing hairChoosing hair
Choosing hair

She attempt to figure out what to do with my hair.
Hair dyeHair dye
Hair dye

Brain scan one. She brought this over and calmly announced that I would have no head after this.
Hair dyeHair dye
Hair dye

Brain scan two.
Hair dyeHair dye
Hair dye

Brain scan three. It just spins around my head and hums. Strange Japanese technology.
Final product.Final product.
Final product.

Yeah, pretty odd. It's gotten considerably more normal by today.
More of the 'doMore of the 'do
More of the 'do

Spiking? I haven't figured out yet what I'm going to do.
Close-upClose-up
Close-up

Close-up of the front. I won't do this often, but it's so loud that everyone stops to check me out. My own friends didn't recognize me at first. Hair is ridiculous, especially when green tinged and loudly shaped.


29th May 2006

Bowie?
Now you really have to work on your crystal ball skillz.
30th May 2006

hee.
it didn't look that strange the second time i look at it. probably cause the first time i look at it, kelvin was freaking out. i think you scared him with that hairdo.
30th May 2006

i am utterly flabbergasted.
just floored. i can't bring myself to stop looking at you. it's just. the pink, the esoterically "fashionable" black waffle-knit, the green/black glasses [wait. why are you wearing glasses?], the green hair, the absurd hair in the sky. good mother of god.
31st May 2006

Hot
You look hot. :)
12th June 2006

dude.
what's up? you've coled on us. no updates in 2 weeks? c'mon. and i KNOW you got my card. that's right, ho, i checked the "notify me" box. but no, nary a word. [okay, that was weird, using a danny word.] is this look permanent? will you still retain the urban outfitters vibe come august?
27th June 2006

Got Hair?
WOW incredible cool new look gr8 2 lay eyes upon u

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb