Back in Kyoto


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto
March 30th 2006
Published: April 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

After my side trip to Nara, I headed back to Kyoto to check into the Gojo guesthouse, my lodging for the next three nights. Once I got into Kyoto, I figured I'd walk to the guesthouse, but unfortunately I somehow ended up on the wrong side of town. I decided to give-up on the walking idea and grabbed the subway. Once I got off, I was positive I knew which way to go, but again, ended up going in the opposite direction of the guesthouse. And when I finally found the area, I couldn't find the actual building and ended up walking passed it two times before I noticed the small sign on the ground. So after my two-hour trek with backpack and daypack in tow, I checked-in, met a couple of my roommates, then went for a tour of the neighbourhood to get my bearings. When I got back, I met a some of the other residents staying at the guesthouse, Yuki from Japan and Kasia and Vicky from Toronto. The four of us ended up going out to grab a bite to eat and then checking out the Kiyomizu-Dera temple, which looked really cool at night. Then of course
Kyoto StationKyoto StationKyoto Station

Picture the Eaton Centre, but longer and with over 10 floors...
it started to snow....a lot. On the way back we stopped in at a sweet shop and got some good Japanese candy :^D which unfortunately probably won't make it home with me, sorry JT! For some reason the heater wasn't on when I got back to my room, so I piled on the blankets and went to sleep.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



1st April 2006

HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!
Hey "Happy Birthday"!!! I'm figuring that although it's Apr.1 here, it should be Apr. 2 there! If I calculated wrong - then "April Fool"!!!! instead.
2nd April 2006

beautiful Kyoto
I was there a week later than this last year, but it wasn't cold and snowy then. The cherry blossoms were in full bloom. I hope they are for you! Be sure to check out Philosopher's Path - they are beautiful there. Also, I think it was Yasaka-ji shrine where the cherry blossoms were beautifully lit up at night. I envy you - wish I was there!

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb