Kyoto


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto
March 27th 2006
Published: March 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Saturday night, went out with Jimmy to Shubuya and stumbled upon this wild club where I ran into Hedi, my roomie from the first two nights at Tokyo Ryokan! It's absolutely baffling, how in a city of 12.4 million people, you can still run into someone you know. We ended the night around 5:00 and then headed back to the capsule hotel where I bid farewell to Jimmy before he headed back to London. I probably caught an hour of sleep, then watched some Japanese tv in the privacy of my capsule. Later that morning I got to experience my morning shower, Japanese style. Basically a large bathing room full of naked men, sitting on little stools in front of mirrors, soaping up and rinsing off and a huge sento (public bath) in the middle of the room. I skipped the sento, I'm holding out for the onsen (mineral hot-spring spa). Sorry ladies, no pictures 😊 Afterwards, I headed to the rail station to catch the bullet train to Kyoto and made my first mistake navigating Japan. I have a Japan rail pass, that bascially lets you travel on any Japan rail train for three weeks, any train except the super-fast Nozomi bullet train, which just so happens to run from Tokyo to Kyoto. This fact was pointed out to me by the conductor, when he came by checking tickets. But he was really good about the whole thing and just laughed and said something in Japanese, which I'm sure was along the lines of 'stupid tourist'. So I basically scored a free trip on the fastest train in the world, sweet. I checked into the J-Hoppers youth hostel, which although looks a little questionable on the outside, turns out is a really cool place. Lots of nice people from all-over, Australia, Germany, UK, Japan, Taiwan, US and the owners are great. The only problem is the place is so popular, I could only get two nights, so I have to figure something out for tomorrow and Wednesday.

Today I just went to see the golden temple, then just walked around some neighbourhood nearby. I also tried to get into the Nijo-jo castle, but it closed at 4. Went out for sushi with some people from the hostel, which wasn't as good as the market, but still great and now I'm just winding down. I should probably start looking for places to stay, so I'm gonna sign-off....but first I have to share another observation...or two about Japan. Although I love Tokyo and Kyoto so far, there was something about the cities that I didn't like and I realized today what it was. There aren't any trees...like none! Even in Toronto you have tree's and grass all over the place, but you'd be hard-pressed to find the same thing here. The closest are the planters with small trees and shrubs that people keep outside of their houses or shops, but even those are few and far between, it's just not the same. But that being said, these are probably the cleanest cities I have ever seen! There is no garbage anywhere and that despite the fact that there are no garbage cans anywhere to be found. I've had to carry around garbage with me for hours because I couldn't find anywhere to put it. I have no idea how that works. Ok that's all for now, I'm out!

Advertisement



27th March 2006

What about
I'd like to hear some bathroom details SVP .. Tell me about the toilets ... The more detail the better ... ;o)
29th March 2006

Kyoto
Hey, Maeko's brother lives in kyoto and said she will ask him if you can stay there while you're visitng. he lives a little outside of the city but it'll be nice.. i'll letcha know. have you contacted motoi??
30th March 2006

WHAT?!?!
No pics of you in the sento?! Needless to say, I'm pissed... Omar, that's just bad form. C'mon, you gotta give Kris a little love while you're gone... :)

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb