Boxed Lunch and Bullet Trains


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto
February 26th 2006
Published: February 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

ShinkansenShinkansenShinkansen

The Shinkansen, or bullet train from Tokyo to Kyoto
I made my way to Tokyo station to catch my Shinkansen to Kyoto. I purchased the quintessentail Japanese boxed lunch and made my way to the platform, where an army of pink uniformed cleaners were making the spotless train even more spotless. It should normally be possible to see Mt Fuji from the seat I was sitting in as the train speeds away from Tokyo, but I held up no hope thanks to the sheets of driving rain that were hitting the bullet train window. Indeed I was not pleasantly suprised - not by the view that is. The lunch and the train however were another story. There was so much leg room on the bullet train (perhaps for the first time this trip) that the tray table was on comically long arms to make it reach your lap... and the lunch was fantastic. A faux-wooden box carefully wrapped like a present in exquisite paper and containing no fewer than 8 large pieces of sushi. I was in lunchbox heaven.

Despite a lack of range the view out of the window improved as the bustle of the city gave way to rugged green hillsides looming out a sea of small
Kyoto StationKyoto StationKyoto Station

Looking through one of the huge metal arches of Kyoto Station
houses where every area of flat land was utilised. Eventually even these subsided and the view became far more rural and unpopulated save for a few small cities along the way.

Finally we drew into Kyoto and I battled through what seemed like some sort of school trip to get off the platform. I think the kids were all suprised to see such a tall man as there was a lot of pointing and staring. Either that or my flies were undone.

My accomodation that evening was a traditional Japanes Ryokan with Tashimi floors, sliding doors and views over an ornamental garden with some huge carp in a pond. Shoes are removed at the front door and replaced with slippers, which are left outside the bedroom. The slippers are changed for other slippers when using the bathroom. Theres also a Japanese bathtab -rather like a hottub with no bubbles.

Having settled in I set out to Explore Kyoto. I grabbed lunch at the station as there was a restaurant on the 11th floor affording views of Southern Kyoto, as well as a huge glass walk way across the station which gave views of Northern Kyoto. The station building itself is immense - unlike any building I have seen before. I walked up to the modern shopping street of Shijo-dori with both Japanese and internationl high street 'designer' stores. Paralell to this was the Nishiki market with a stunning array of fruit, veg meat and fish all in a street covered by a multicoloured glass ceiling. It was here I saw my first Geisha walking down the street.

Kyoto seems to literally have temples at every corner - in the middle of malls, between houses and anywhere else they can find to put them. They of course vary in grandure and beauty but add nicely to the feel of the place.

Next I headed west towards the Kamo-gawa river and found a maze of streets and allys around an ornamental canal. All manner of establishments lined these streets from the famed hour rental love hotels, 'pink' caberets and fetish shops to trendy restaurants bars and clubs. Eventually the river was reached and I crossed into Gion, the traditional entertainment and Geisha district. Gion again mixes the seedy with the mainstream, but has a higher concentraion of old architecture and temples. The gem has to be Shirakawa Minami-dore, a canalfront street with traditional wooden buildings and very local only establishments.

i headed back to the Ryokan after a long, but thoroughly enjoyable day!

Things I have noticed about the Japanese:


Advertisement



26th February 2006

the sites
Stop bloody writing on here and stay away from computer cafe's! your supposed to be culturing yourself ;) Yes, i did read the musical stairs - reminds of the film BIG or the simpsons.
27th February 2006

Geisha
Yay you've seen a Geisha girl!! I can't believe you've been there only 4 days and already you've seen so much more than i had a chance to. I hope you've been using you phrasebook but not the sections we were looking at!!
2nd March 2006

what colour is envy
HI Alex Its taken me some time ti get ny head around blogging. If you don't get this then I have prseed something else incorrectly. Sounds like fun being had. What a great experience. James was in Korea last week and is in China this. Back home on Monday 6th march. I like my children on english terra ferma (the more firmer the less terror) Ha ha. Keep well. Love from Lorna

Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 16; qc: 87; dbt: 0.0933s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb