This Monkey's Gone to Heaven


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto
November 16th 2008
Published: November 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


KyotoKyotoKyoto

The bridge over to the monkey park
Kyoto's, home to Temples, Shrines, Gisha's, Parks, blah, blah, blah. When I arrived in kyoto I only had one thing on my mind: Monkeys. There is a monkey sanctuary/park in the Arishiyama area of town. It takes about 20 minutes to climb up a quite a steep hill to the park. At the top of the hill you get ushered into the resting area where there is a cage on one side, from which you can feed the monkeys, but you can also go outside and wonder amongst them. I think I stayed there a bit too long, a couple of them came right up to my leg a started grooming each other.

I spent a couple of hours wondering around the gardens of the Tenryuji Temple which was quite nice, but I suspect that it's quite similar to the hundreds of other temples that are found throughout Kyoto. I also went down to the Fushimi Inari-taisha Shrine which is a series of small temples linked together with pathways which are lined with thousands of Torii (the red gate things). I got a bit lost wondering around and once it was dark the shrines got a little bit spooky.

I lso spent a day in a city called Nara which apparently was Japan's first real capital (back in 710). It has a large temple and park complex which is inhabited with hundreds of wild deer that have lost their fear of humans and will happily walk up to you (especially if you have handful of crackers that the street vendors sell). Alson in Nara is Todai-Ji, which is a temple that houses the Daibutsu-den Hall, the largest wooden building in the world. Inside is a 15m high Bronze Buddha (I'm about as big as one of it's fingers). The place was packed with school kids and tourists, but I think it's funny how people go to places like this and never seem to take their eyes away from the the viewfinder of their cameras. Maybe I'm a little guilty of that as well, but I try to put my camera away for a bit every time I visit somewhere.

I took most of today off to do washing etc. and also to travel down to Hiroshima which is about 2 hours south-west by bullet train. I'm going to have a look around the A-Bomb museum and Peace Gardens tomorrow and possibly go down to Miyajima.


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

MonkeysMonkeys
Monkeys

Giz a nut!


18th November 2008

Monkeytastic
Konichiwa Doug, hope things are going well. Say Hai to Akira and Kanada
18th November 2008

wow
that pic of Temple Garden is awesome with the HDR thing going on...!

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb