The color of fall


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto
November 24th 2006
Published: January 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Me in ArashiyamaMe in ArashiyamaMe in Arashiyama

Notice the can of coffee.. hehe
Rich and I went to Kyoto towards the end of November to check out the autumn leaves. All of my students tell me that Kyoto is the place to go to see the seasons change, and for good reason!

We headed to Arashiyama first in hopes of avoiding some of the crowds, but after a bit we realized that was impossible (plus we had some dramas trying to find an ATM). We did make a brief stop at Tenryu-ji temple though for some nice photo ops.

After that we decided to head to Kyoto-proper and check out one of the city’s most famous temples- Kiyomizu-dera. The walk up to the temple was aggravating at best… hoards of people, all going in different directions, on a very small street. One thing this country seems to lack is a sense of spatial awareness, which I find mind-boggling at times.

Anywho, the temple itself is quite impressive. The main building is perched atop a hill overlooking Kyoto. The light was beginning to fade though, so after snapping a few more pics, we made our way back through the crowds in the direction of Gion and the nearest train station.

All in all it was an enjoyable day. Plus I finally had someone to take my picture in front of stuff! 😉 hehe



On a side note.. Brent and Cody- you boys made my day! I was both laughing and blushing at your comments. 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Fallen leavesFallen leaves
Fallen leaves

Obvious title, I know..
Gion Gion
Gion

Came across this on our way to Kiyomizu-dera
PagodaPagoda
Pagoda

Not sure of the name of this one.. we took a wrong turn and found ourselves here.
Carving on the pagodaCarving on the pagoda
Carving on the pagoda

At Kiyomizu-dera
Kiyomizu-deraKiyomizu-dera
Kiyomizu-dera

Check out all the people


15th January 2007

It must have been absolutely beautiful to see a real fall (unlike Texas') with leaves turning colors!
15th January 2007

hi!
i just went to houston and got a can of coffee. i'm awesome!
15th January 2007

Hey Alyssa, I can obviously see your doing well. Take advantage of those pretty colors cause the colors outside in Austin right now are different shades of brown and for today add a little ice. The city is freaking out because of ice haha. Well take care of yourself and come home to me safe in one piece :-). Oh yeah and I show everyone the little froggy I have hanging around on my phone. Love and miss you! Your Baby
17th January 2007

yowza
amazin fotes! good to see you havin fun

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 18; dbt: 0.0302s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb