Bar Nap


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto
October 28th 2006
Published: November 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Generally I really dislike places that have turned into tourist traps. I went to Ginkakuji after getting some tourist information and it had a huge line of tourist shops before you reached the entrance and then way too many people all over. Granted the way they rake the rocks to make gardens is pretty cool but I kept thinking to myself "what's the big deal?" Then I stopped, "Can you take my picture?" I asked a nice looking Japanese guy who seemed to speak English. After taking mine he and his friend asked me to return the favor. We thought nothing of it and I kept walking to the bus stop to go to the next place. I just barely missed the bus and 2 or 3 minutes later there they were again waiting for the same bus. Turns out the guy's name is Yvan and he's from France, the other guy's his coworker from Japan. Yvan, like many others in Japan, is here on work for a short time for his company and will travel to see the sites for only a short time (in his case a day) before leaving.

We spent the rest of the day traveling together - Kinkakuji first was a much better thrill - it truly is golden and i think that and the reflection pool makes it seem much bigger than it actually is - which ultimately gives you an awe-struck feeling.

We also went to Ryoanji which was pretty freaking awesome although I wish I had more time to meditate there and walk around the beautiful landscape gardens with no one else around. I really like the raked rocks - that sure is an interesting type of art.

We went to a totally kick ass place for dinner too although it sure seemed to take us a long time to get there. It was an awesome type of Japanese barbeque where you sit on the floor and the majority of the table in front of you is a big stove to cook your stuff. I really enjoyed it a lot. Yvan invited me to visit him in France if I go back. Maybe I will when Mathieu is back there and I can go outside Paris to see the two of them. I'm really shy to talk around French people since I don't know French and many of them don't want us to speak English. I'm frozen speechless (although not with the ones I hear speaking English).

Later I went to a bar where there was a Halloween so tons of people (foreign and Japanese) were dressed up. It was pretty cool. I met some teachers although one of them got into a fight - which is never good. I was scared that my guesthouse wouldn't be open so I ended up taking a nap at the bar - with some people I'd met watching over me - until I could walk back (about a mile). I officially think curfews are really stupid. It forces you to stay out way past when you would let yourself. I'm 23 I'm not used to going to bed when others tell me to. But if the curfew is 12 and I get tired at 1:30 I'm forced to stay out the rest of the night until 5 or 6 even though I'm completely stupidly exhausted by that time. Fortunately I switched to a better hostel that locks the doors at 10 but you can get in with a key whenever you want. Smart people.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb