Kyoto Fiasco


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto » Kyoto
April 12th 2008
Published: April 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Kyoto Fiasco


12th of April

Think of Kyoto….

What do you imagine?

I think….geisha, cherry blossoms, rivers, parks…..traditional buildings…

Wrong!

I think I did the whole visit wrong though. I was umming and aahing because I really needed to use the internet…and I was going to go to Fujikawa-san’s house but she is very busy this weekend so when I finally decided yes I’m definitely going to Kyoto, it was already 1pm. I had done my hand washing (in brrr! freezing cold water!), gone to the local shops, tried at a grey payphone to call internationally, walked through the nearby park…and so I just went over to the train station (situated, conveniently, almost directly behind my house). I went to Kyoto sans map, Kyoto guidebook, train line map (as I couldn’t find one) and with half the day gone. Not really the best start.

I wandered through Kyoto station, looking for an information desk, and finally found one in the underground ‘Porta’ mall….basically criss crossing lines of boutique shopping……remember I’m drinking chu-hi on a water budget… I walked one block from the station to Campus Plaza, which offers FREE INTERNET! But no usb ports. You can use it for a hour, and then you have to sign up again. This gives other people a chance to get in…it’s a really nice concept actually. I sent off about 20 e-mails, and when my hour was up I wandered around the same block hoping to get a glimpse of the old Kyoto I had thought about. I was a bit disappointed but I didn’t explore very far.

Truth be told I was a bit annoyed at myself for making the journey with so little time to do exploring. I wasn’t sure what time the trains would stop running to my area, so I didn’t end up meeting up with another teacher who lives in Kyoto, and didn’t really see anything except a computer screen. I was ill prepared for my journey, but I did get some experience on the trains. They are really quite nice. The whole journey takes just over an hour…and there are 2 train changes. I’m going to be a pro in a while!

I wonder what my Japanese must sound like to the people I ask for help…..In English it probably sounds like:
‘Sorry….station…..first…Kibikawa?’ (Excuse me, is Kibukawa one station away?)
‘Excuse me…..plaaaatform…..train…..this….Kusatsu…….is station correct?’ (Is this the correct platform for the train to Kusatsu station?)

I can’t imagine the day when I’ll be babbling away in Japanese….I learn at least one word a day, and a simple phrase here and there…it’s remembering them when the need arises that’s the trouble! I have had some small conversations with Kocho-sensei (the principal of the school)….. on one wet and windy morning he was at the gate in a windcheater with his umbrella, greeting students…and I came blowing in and stated the obvious ‘Samui ne?’ (It’s cold isn’t it?)… Those moments make me smile though…and they make him smile too. Then again….I couldn’t imagine the day that I would be living in Japan….and here I am. I must admit something though. When I did try to picture myself living in Japan, I had a lot more furniture than this. (^_^)

I’ve just realized….I have been here for 2 weeks! Wow. It feels waaaaay longer. How long does it feel for you?


Advertisement



12th April 2008

If I remember correctly, you can't call international from every pay phone and definitely not the green ones. You might find it better to get an international calling card (can buy them from kombini) as it's a lot cheaper. Ask the guy at the counter for a kokusaidenwa kaado (sometimes they just give you a print out with an access number and not an actual card. You might need to put in 10 yen or so into the phone to get a dial tone before you can call. xxx k Hang in there chica!

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb