Kyoto karei desu!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto » Kyoto » Gion
December 29th 2007
Published: December 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Wow, so first I went towards Kiyomizu Temple. It was awesome! If only for the fact that you walk down a tunnel in total darkness, with you hand against the wall until you reach the end. Kinda freaked me out, I dont know if Ive ever been in total darkness like that before. But it was an awesome, and short, experience.

Then it was off to Ginkakuji Temple and the Path of Philosophy! The Temple was amazing! There was nothing but deep nature all around. I got to go up, for a little bit, the side of a mountain and see trees so tall and old I cant image the world they lived in when they first started sprouting. Zen gardens in front of mountains and tall trees, very breathtaking. Walking the path of philosophy was no different. I sometimes strayed off the path and went into the wood, not very deep, just to be with the trees. So many little streams with fish just made it even more amazing. I did some shoping in the area and am pleased to say I am almost done with my Christmas shopping! (God knows how im going to travel with all this
Another Geisha!Another Geisha!Another Geisha!

Shes on her way to another Tea House, Im guessing, but was nice enough to let us take her picture! So pretty.
stuf! I might have to leave my clothes behind!!!)

Afterwards I went walking around the Pagoda nearby where I:m staying. I went up there on my frist day, but I just wanted to have another look around. I went up the hill and saw the sun starting to set on Kyoto. Also noticed a HUGE Buddha in the backgrond. The tmple was closed so I wasnt able to go up and see him.

Oh- wait, did I mention the super cool part?!?! I SAW GEISHA!! They were walking the area and having their pictures taking in front of certain buildings!! I saw two groups of two, and took their pictures. One girl, I dont know if she was right, said that the first group wasnt real Geisha. She couldnt be sure, but she thought it was some actors putting on a show to have pictures taken. So, I told myself they were real and believed that.

Then when I went out to dinner, I thought, maybe I should just go towards Gion. I saw all these people standing against a wall with a camera in hand, and found out that were in front of an Okiya! A
Ginkakuji TempleGinkakuji TempleGinkakuji Temple

This lovely Temple is surrounded by nature at its best!
Geisha house. They said that typically between 4:30-6:30 you will see, and not always, Geisha come out. So I stood for 30min. Why not? I wasnt sure those others were real Geisha, looked it tho, but I wanted to make sure without a doubt that Ive seen Geisha, or Maiko appentice Geisha. So after 30min of waiting for someone to come out, no one came out. Then out of no where from the side, GEISHA! I followed, like others, down the street and took her picture. Yeah, I felt bad. But she was waiting to cross the street and she put on a smile and let everyone take her picture. I got some really good shots! Very happy! This time for real. She had the beautiful Obi and big sandles. Very pretty!

Afterwards I tried to make it to the Fugu place. Yay, I found it and didnt get lost. Only they were booked for the night, and tomorrow as wel, then they close down til the 4th for the New Year. AHHHHHhwell. Ill just have to try in Osaka. I guess Ill look for aplace and try and book it in advance. I really cant back to the states sad because I didnt have Fugu tho, I mean, Ive done so many other great things!!! There are more that I wanted to do that I wont be able to do (Maiko show, Sumo, Noh/Kabuki, see the Sakura in bloom) so I guess I need to plan another trip afterawhile!!

Anyways- check out my pics! Im getting ready to add some more.

Oh yeah, I change to another hotel tomorrow, this is the REALLY nice one in Kyoto. Just found out where it was on the map and its pretty close to the Imperial Palace but not as close to Gion as I thought (not a big deal). Also, Jeff comes in town tomorrow. So, theres a lot more to do before moving on to Nara after the New Years. I also dont know how internet will work in this new palce, so Ill post whenI can!!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Path of PhilosophyPath of Philosophy
Path of Philosophy

A Prof from Kyoto Univ. used to walk this path everyday and therefore it became what it has. Here is a shot of the stones that line the path. I believe its about a 1.8km walk.


29th December 2007

wow great pictures starrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0766s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb