Imperial Palace & Manga!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto » Kyoto » Gion
December 27th 2007
Published: December 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Just to get into the palace...Just to get into the palace...Just to get into the palace...

I needed my passport with me and had to have someone say, in writing, that it was cool for me to go into the Imperial Palace grounds in Kyoto. And the Emperor doesn't even live there!!
Because I am now a master of the bus system in Kyoto, YES!, I was able to figure out how to do everything on my list. But one thing. But thats not a lack-of-knowing-how-to-get-there, there was just no room for me 😞. Anyways!! It was AWESOME! So I made it to the Imperial Palace, and I had to go to this side building, show my passport and sign in. They gave me a slip saying it was ok to visit the grounds, but I could only go in at 2pm with a tour. It was before 10am. Wow, what to do?! I KNOW! Walk a few blocks down and hang out at Kyotos International Manga Museum! I go there, and realize there are some cool things, but for the most part it is walls and walls of manga and you just sit there, where ever in the museum, and read. I found the English section and did some reading after I walked about the whole place. I read outside and it was nice to relax. Afterwards I get a quick bite to eat, go to some shrine, check and find out that there are no Noh performances for the rest of
Internal Museum of MangaInternal Museum of MangaInternal Museum of Manga

Rows and Rows of manga - I found the English section and sat down outside reading some crazy Manga :)
the year, and then make it back to the Palace 30min. before the tour. Ohmygod it was awesome! For real. For those that dont know, Kyoto was the capital for Japan for almost 1,000years. Before it was Nara, but I believe that was only for less then 200years. It moved from Kyoto to Edo around 1868 when the Meiji Emperor changed the name from Edo to Tokyo (meaning something like Capital to the West). Shortly afterwards many things in Japan changed following the move. The removal of the Shogunate and the Samurai class were two major changes. So being there in Kyoto on those same grounds where some many of Japans rulers sat and lived was .. well I dont know if there are words that can properly mean how I feel. It was remarkable to say the least. I saw the same garden the royal family used to see. I saw where they used to sit and where they slept. Amazing. The buildings themselves were not open to visitors but many buildings were open and we could take pictures and look in them. So we coul only walk around the outside. I took so many pictures. In just a
Part of the Imperial Palace, KyotoPart of the Imperial Palace, KyotoPart of the Imperial Palace, Kyoto

Could only go on the tour- so I wasn't able to get a nice shot of much while on the grounds, but still a wonderful place to visit!!
few days I will venture down to Nara and aterwards I will have been to all of the capitals of Japan!!!

Afterwards I walked to a another shrine and then made my way down to a place that had Fugu. Once I got there I realized it was asmall place and they were already booked for the night. So now I need to find another place to try Fugu. Ill have to look it up online before going to bed.

Tomorrow- Himeji castle. Today was the last day of tours for the Palace for the year, and tomorrow the last day for this castle. I realized what I did wrong yesterday on my attempt to get there, so tomorrow, I will be awesome and make it there, no problem!!!

Thanks everyone for the updates and emails. Its great hearing from so many while Im gone. I honestly can say that I miss you all, and nothing made me more homesick today then seeing the 150 plus pine trees around the Palace. Hope all is well!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0265s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb