Orange Torri gates


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto » Kyoto » Gion
December 25th 2007
Published: December 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Stone Buddha's behind shrineStone Buddha's behind shrineStone Buddha's behind shrine

Everywhere you walked behind this shrine you would see lots of these guys sticking out of the grass, just hanging out! Very peaceful!
Wow, I really set myself out to go to this one castle, but it didnt work out that way. I ended up going towards a few temples instead. Kinda wish I payed better attention cause I wanted to go to this castle today seeing as how it was going to be closed until 1/4/08. Ohwell, theres so much to do in Kyoto, there is no way that I can get it all done.

Ill try and get some pic up in the morning from Kyoto. Also, Im half brain dead so I dont rem. all the names of everything I went to. Ill have to add those in later too.

I went to this one Pagoda that is the largest in all of Tokyo. It was built long ago, and was so amazing. Next to it were two buildings and each had wooded statues painted in gold of different Buddhas. I couldnt believe what I was seeing. Its against socail law to take pictures inside shrines, but I wish woud have been able to. In the middle was a LARGE Buddha and next to him he had four others, one to each side. Next them still more, each smaller
Nintendo!Nintendo!Nintendo!

In a 'not so great' looking part of town, I found the random Nintendo building standing up in the Earth. Kinda reminds me of Tetris...
and each different. By the time it went to the end there were some mean looking guys that looked as if the rage of war had taken over their souls. The story goes that Buddha is there to remind us to be peaceful and to practice the Way, while the other guys are there as a reminder that we are human and must fight against evil. I believe one monk carved all those statues. Each one only used a single block of wood. Some skill.

Then I went to this cool temple. I was disapointed at first cause I thought it was a different one, in other words, i got two mixed up. But in the end Im glad I went. Behind the temple was a walk way and to the sides you could see 2-3feet stones sticking out of the earth, each with a little Buddha carved on it! Kinda reminded me of the creepy forest spirits in Spirited Away. I did take pictures of these guys. Also this temple was on the side of a mountain and I was able to have a great view of Kyoto City below. Breathtaking.

Then I made it to where
Toji TempleToji TempleToji Temple

Large 5 story Pagoda with a lovely Zen garden out front.
I really wanted to go. I couldnt believe it. It was just as amazing as the pictures painted it!! In front of a shinto shrine the Japanese normally errect a orange structure. I dont know what to call it in English, or even the name in Japanese. But it looks like a l-l sorta thing... ok not really what I just tried drawing on my limited key board, but ill post pictures tomorrow to give you a better idea. Anyways, thsi was incredible cause it was one after another after another, and you walked through these and kept going up a mountain to different shrines and sometimes to a lake. Wow. (yeah, so this is me coming back with the edit- Torri gates! Remember that!)

At the bottom of that I ate some more noodles, made my way back to Gion, enjoyed some rest and had a little ice cream before returning back to my hostel to call it a night.

Tomorrow, Himiji castle. Its about an 1 or 1.5hrs away, so I need to wake up early so that I can make it there to enjoy it!! Its huge!! and i cant wait!! Also if anyone has
Torri GatesTorri GatesTorri Gates

A path that goes on for a LONG time up a Mountain
seen the Japanese movie Ran, this movie took place in that castle!!

MERRY CHRISTMAS!!! Hope everyone back home is enjoying their hollidays!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Torri gates rule!Torri gates rule!
Torri gates rule!

I loved this part the best!


27th December 2007

The jealousy is really setting in...
...I just don't know how to contain myself. Keep the blog entries coming!!! Miss you!! Duke game nights just aren't the same.

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb