kumamoto and best gyoza ever


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kumamoto » Kumamoto
March 25th 2012
Published: June 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Our next destination is Kumamoto. You may know that there is a big ramen franchise called Ajisen Ramen. They have 2 stores in Sydney CBD. Ajisen Ramen is actually based in Kumamoto. The author of the anime Natsume Yuujinchou is also from Kumamoto. I've always been a fan of ghosts and spirits so I was really looking forward to the trip.

I took a Kyushu Express train to Kumamoto. Unlike most other countries, trains in Japan have individual characters and they even have names. The most famous one in Kyushu is called Yufu no Mori. It won some kind of best design award. I didn't know this kind of awards exist for trains! The Kyushu Express train we took was awesome. The ride was so pleasant I bought a beer to go with my bento. I don't usually drink but it seemed to be the right thing to do at that moment. It's a weird feeling...

In Kumamoto city, we found a restaurant that does Chinese style food. We didn't expect much but wow their gyoza was the best I have ever had in my life. We ordered 1 serving to try but quickly ordered 4 more. They were sooo good.

After dinner we had a walk in the local supermarket. You can find out a lot of things in supermarkets. I was surprised at how expensive mango and honeydew were. I don't think I would be buying these fruits if I'm a local.

On the way to Kagoshima, we visited Hitoyoshi which is like Kumamoto country side. This is my favorite place in Japan so far. Words can't describe how beautiful and peaceful it is. I can easily stay here for a long time!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0618s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb