Those Lazy, Hazy, Crazy Days of Summer


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kanagawa
July 16th 2012
Published: July 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

julystuff 001julystuff 001julystuff 001

Soba I made for dinner
Thought I ought to actually update this for the loyal readers. <3 It's been super hot here recently, though not as hot as in the states, so for that, I am grateful, since I'm basically avoiding using my air-con unit any more than I absolutely have to due to how much I suspect it costs. This means I've been sleeping with the sliding glass door open (with a screen) for most nights. However, today I went to the Recycle Shop, which is like a second-hand store, and got a big fan! EASILY THE BEST PURCHASE SO FAR. Ugh, it's so much nicer in here now!

I also bought a shelving unit for 735 yen, which is like $8. Hahaha the delivery fee was more than the actual shelves were. And when I checked out, I had to negotiate the delivery time and get all that taken care of entirely in Japanese. I end up doing a lot of apologizing when it takes me a long time to understand/get through conversations, but since everyone here is so dang nice, it's never a problem. My Japanese is certainly getting better, though mostly reading, since I have to read the katakana on everything
julystuff 003julystuff 003julystuff 003

Lights on a bush on my way home
when I buy it.

Work is wonderful! I love, love my job. I had a week full of mostly kids, which is exhausting as well as rewarding, but I am glad that my schedule for next week looks to be more adults. There's only so long you can sing the ABC song before your throat needs a rest. It's hard to be that high energy all the time!

My coworkers are amazing and we hung out last night, and they showed me around the area and took me to the cheap import store so I actually have things like cheese and popcorn and Pringles! SO HAPPY. Also super happy to be so near to awesome people (2 of them live seven minutes away from me) who I get along with so well. My school is very highly regarded and I've been told is basically my meal ticket to whatever I want to due next because of the high value we place on quality and professionalism; I guess it's really hard to get hired here, and I didn't even know anything about that when I applied! I'm very grateful that I found this job and applied for it. 😊
julystuff 004julystuff 004julystuff 004

Pizza with awesome people!
It's perfect for me, and I feel like I'm really doing something AND that the company is really appreciating the good work I'm doing and the skills I brought in with me.

Well, that's mostly it for me. It was a holiday today but it was my weekend anyway, so I didn't get an extra day off work. Bummer! LOL tomorrow is supposed to be really hot so we'll see if I end up doing much other than sitting with my fan on me. I really don't know how I got through three weeks without this thing.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

julystuff 010julystuff 010
julystuff 010

Our new Japanese friends across the park who didn't know how to ride a motorcycle without stalling it out
julystuff 011julystuff 011
julystuff 011

Fireworks! We drank beer and set off fireworks in the park, haha.
july2 008july2 008
july2 008

Sunset past my balcony
july2 013july2 013
july2 013

Sunset near my apartment
july2 015july2 015
july2 015

So beautiful!
july2 020july2 020
july2 020

I HAVE SHELVES NOW, I AM LESS OF A HOBO


Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1013s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb