Chill-out on Amami Oshima


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kagoshima
December 20th 2009
Published: December 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Cycling Amami


Arriving after a hard night on the upper deck of the ferry with drinking Japanese spirits and beers with a cyclist that I just met, I arrived on Amami Oshima at 5 AM. On that very morning I found lovely Ohama beach and camping, however I decided to stay two days in Naze, just to wait for better weather, then headed south towards Setouchi and found a nice lonely remote beach with campground, Yadori. Stayed for two nights, and returned back to Naze with no idea what to do next. On the way, I almost bumped into my cycling friends from Kyushu in a 2.4 kilometer long tunnel. We decided to camp together for a couple of days on Ohama. For me, finally resting after more than 3600 kilometers of cycling. I found the warm beaches, and I had great company. An older man came to visit us every morning, eventually proovided us with wet suits and snorkeling gear. So we went snorkeling the coral banks, hunting fish with rubberband harpunes, eating them at night. We were cooking rice or pancake and Indian chai for breakfast, okonimiyaki for lunch and curry for dinner on our campground kitchen on a gas cooker. After 6 days, my friends left and I spend my time with Tai Chi and reading sutras, learning Japanese a bit and going snorkeling with my retired lad from Osaka, who invited me for dinner and drinks every once in a while. Then the rain came, and the wind. Temperature dropped. I went to a public bath with Sauna after about two weeks with cold showers and shaved my beard. Then I left...


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb