Travel Day


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Iwate » Morioka
September 21st 2008
Published: September 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Sapporo is pretty busy at night 7 secs
Me boredMe boredMe bored

Just me being bored on a train
I'm writing this from about 100m below the bottom of the sea separating Hokkaido and Honshu. Today's just a pure travel day, my next real destination is Matsumoto, near Nagano. Yesterday was a nothing day, didn't sleep well the night before, the pictures below were taken the previous nights. Last night was stuck in the same dorm room as a snorer so again not much rest... stopping tonight in Morioka going to try checking in to a real hotel just so I can have a good nights rest, but failing that there's a rather nice capsule inn right by the station... somewhere I think. Morioka's a pretty cool little city stayed here a few nights my last trip.

Didn't book my tickets for this ahead of time so stuck in the non reserved area of the train for this leg of the trip. There's a class of children in this car they seem to be having a lot of fun. Earlier today while going up the escalator some little girl no more then 5 was staring at me so I waved at her, and she waved back. As she stepped off the escalator she poked my arm then ran off.
TrainTrainTrain

Similar model to what I've been on while in Hokkaido
I suppose she'll be telling her friends about her encounter with the "scary gaijin".

Well in Morioka now... the capsule inn wasn't even where I thought it was, no idea might be gone now... Four hotels later finally found a place that even has room, pretty jumpin for a Sunday night here I guess.

Ja-mata (see ya later)


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

View on the way to SapporoView on the way to Sapporo
View on the way to Sapporo

Slightly blury shot of a large rock sitting in the water, looks like it was part of the mountainside until they blasted through it.
Otaru housingOtaru housing
Otaru housing

Guessing those are the expensive places, overlooking the ocean.
Sapporo at nightSapporo at night
Sapporo at night

View of Sapporo from a Sushi Bar I was at
Sapporo at NightSapporo at Night
Sapporo at Night

Sapporo at night from the JR Tower Observatory deck (38th floor).
Ferris wheelFerris wheel
Ferris wheel

Same rooftop Ferris wheel I saw earlier all lit up.


21st September 2008

good nights rest
Dude, I hope you got that good nights sleep you wanted. Sleep makes all the difference in the world. Love the night pics, especially the ferris wheel.
21st September 2008

what she the one?
was that little girl your kid? LOL - sounds cool. Whatcha been eating?
22nd September 2008

lol maybe. So far had a mix of Sushi, Japanese pork chops, and of course a burger from Japan's Mos Burger chain.

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0861s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb