Chuson-ji Temple & Motsu-ji Temple


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Iwate » Hiraizumi
July 5th 2008
Published: July 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Megs & IMegs & IMegs & I

Yep Tree huggers - we couldn't resist!
My weekend was spent with Megan in her local town Kitakami. I travelled down on the local train which takes around 50 minutes from Morioka. Saturday night was spent at Crayon Karaoke Bar. A few Gin & Tonics later I found myself learning the art of Japanese Samurai Sword fighting with a few drunken locals and I’d have to say from what I remember I was pretty good! Megan and I stumbled home in the wee hours of the morning but not before stopping at the local Lawsons for some munchies. Can you believe I left my purse in the taxi and didn’t realise until minutes later when I had the taxi driver in the shop handing it to me! I couldn’t have thanked him enough, but I think he just wanted to get back in his Taxi. I was VERY thankful. I have to say if it had happened in any other country I don't even know if I've have gotton my purse back at all! We finally made it home after Megan had a lady like stack in the middle of the street scoffed down our food and literally passed out. We managed to move our bodys and start our day at 4pm that afternoon! The next morning we were off to Hiraizumi for a day of sightseein at some very famous Temples. It was only a short 20 minute train ride south of Kitakami. We woke up at 7am had breakfast and left grabbing our friend Mike on the way. We caught the bus from the station to the Temple where we spent the next 2 ½ hours in aw and taking photos of the beautiful shrines and nature around us. We entered a room built around “The Golden Temple” we were the only gaijin there and seemed to be getting a lot of stares. It was like the staff behind the counter never saw tourists much in these parts but they were bowing politely and smiling at us alot. The explanation of the Golden Temple was of course in Japanese so we didn’t understand a thing, but as we were about to leave, it all of a sudden went into English. We looked over again to the staff behind the counter and they were smiling even harder now and waving at us I had to giggle I thought it was so sweet. I was a bit annoyed when I’d only gotten ½ way through our day when my camera ran out of battery. I then relied on Megans pics which are throughout this travelblog, so I cannot take credit for all the photos, hers are absolutely amazing! Thanks Megan! We took the bus back to the station and from there we took a short 10 minute walk to the beautiful Japanese gardens or Motsu-ji Temple, which was beautiful. The lake was so big and the trees were so unusual we even took time out to hug one! They said at the tourist office there was a flower festival there, well I mean they had flowers but I didn't notice a festival! We started to melt in the heat so thought it time to head back to the station and back home for some well deserved rest. I headed back to Morioka not before jumping off at Kitakami and retrieving my stuff from Megans. I got back home flopped on my fouton and thought about the week of teaching ahead!


Additional photos below
Photos: 52, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

MountainsMountains
Mountains

View from the train on the way
ShrineShrine
Shrine

Small rock shrine on the side of the road at Hiraizumi
ShrineShrine
Shrine

Different angle
Trees #3Trees #3
Trees #3

They looked so beautiful
Sarah WarriorSarah Warrior
Sarah Warrior

lol yeah not very scary!


Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb