The Beginning of my Summer Trip


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hyogo
August 7th 2011
Published: August 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Last Friday I handed my annual leave form to my supervisor, he gave me this strange look. Was he envious? surprised? I still can not tell what Japanese people are thinking sometimes... I'm lucky that in Japan I am a gaijin and don't need to feel guilty about taking day offs. So my two-week summer vacation has begun.

Our first trip was to Kinosaki onsen. Where to go was really not a big issue for me. I was just overwhelmed with joy because it has been long since I last traveled. And because my yoga course and work had kept me in for quite a long time.

If I can, perhaps in Japan many people do not have the privilege of doing so, I would never want to sacrifice traveling for money and career position. During travel, I become fully present and available to the mystery and wonder of each unfolding moment. During travel, I can write and reflect. Oh since when I had stopped writing for leisure. Study and work, even facebook keeps me away from writing. ^^

This trip was a great experience for us because we both don't have much experience with camping trips. We didn't store enough food in the car over a long drive, we didn't bring enough light for setting up a tent, we didn't bring our favorite songs so we had to listen to the anime songs again and again which were stored in the rental car. Worse thing, in the dark camp ground Sadao drove the car into the sand and got stuck there! But it was so much fun that we laughed at our stupidity.

Looking for more adventure to come, Naoshima tomorrow and Kyushu next week! More laughers and learning await for us.


Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

KinosakiKinosaki
Kinosaki

Night view
Our car got stuck in the sand!Our car got stuck in the sand!
Our car got stuck in the sand!

But under the beautiful sky


19th August 2011
What's this called?

It's called a 'bug'! ;)
21st August 2011

a bug
Haha Yaron! Yes it's called a bug!! ^^

Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 77; dbt: 0.1103s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb