The week I became slightly Japanese and 5 years old again...


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hyogo » Kobe
August 18th 2007
Published: August 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Atsui...Atsui...Atsui...

In this heat you really do need a fan...and a flannel...
Ok, so I think I have a slight addiction to eating and drinking at Izakaya's...each time someone asks me where do you want to eat, of course I'm going to say a japanese Izakaya restaurant...I'm not in Japan that often!

Last week I spent a day with Namiko in Kyoto. We visited two of my favourite places so far in Japan. One was this walk through heaps of Torii (see picture) that went on for ages, it was magical although very tiring as it was maybe the hottest day I've experienced so far in Japan! I still keep stopping and thinking, wow, I can't believe I'm actually in Japan, sitting here with a friend I didn't know if I'd ever see again! Ah, such a good feeling...

Leaving Namiko, I went back to Gifu. I was so worn out from the day that I thought yes, let's go to an all nighter Japanese dancing festival in celebration of Obon. I'm so happy that I went. It was in a small town called Guju Hachiman which was quite in the middle of nowhere. Yoshiko let me wear one of her Yukatas...I felt very Japanese indeed...although the wooden shoes proved a
Follow the Torii path...Follow the Torii path...Follow the Torii path...

This really was a magical walk...
tad difficult to walk in at first! The dancing was great...a short sequence of moves that you repeated over and over again whilst gradually moving down the street, surrounded by hundreds and hundreds of colourful Japanese wearing their yukatas too...oh yes and lots of beer. The Japanese do love their beer so I just have to join in...

Now I am in Kobe, staying with Sachiko (one of the nurses). The other day I became a little girl again for the day in Universal Studios Japan. The first ride we went on was E.T and I really felt like I was 5 years old again, made me go all shivery!
Sesame Street 4D was hilarious as of course it was all overdubbed in Japanese. I somehow managed to understand the storyline but just kept on laughing to myself at the voices...you could tell they were trying so hard to sound like the actual characters but they didn't quite get there...


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Namiko and I...Namiko and I...
Namiko and I...

Last time we had our picture taken together we were in Sydney...I'm still amazed that I'm in Japan...
Sushi Lucy...Sushi Lucy...
Sushi Lucy...

My first time in a Yukata. I loved wearing it so much...felt like a Japanese girl...
Okinomiyaki with Kana and Sachiko...Okinomiyaki with Kana and Sachiko...
Okinomiyaki with Kana and Sachiko...

This is a traditional dish from Osaka, where they cook it on the hot plate in front of you. Of course I caused problems being a vegetarian...


28th August 2007

first again
You look that you are having so much fun, can't wait to see you again. I have booked you in at The Royal Tiger with your friend. Love you lots Dad
28th August 2007

Hey u
Hows it goin sis, nice catchin up wiv u the other day, see u soon...im glad u appreciated my japenese phrases the other day on Msn
28th August 2007

Big bird
Remember snufflelumpicus....u though smell like Grouch!
28th August 2007

Ah memories !
E.T.and Sesame Street......I can still see your face now, and here you are repeating the experience in Japan !!! where has the time gone ! You look beautiful in your Yukata.....cant wait to see all your photos, take care love always ....Okasan xx

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0726s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb