Hakodate - Foreigners Cemetary and Harbour views


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hokkaido » Hakodate
November 8th 2007
Published: November 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Took it pretty easy today. I did go on one long, slow walk to the outskirts of the port (photographs attached). It's quite picturesque, but so is any seaside town, really. I'm ready to move on.

Strayed off the beaten path a bit and found some food markets only the locals seem to know about. For lunch I had raw red salmon marinated in sweet vinegar, fish-cakes, and some prawns. For breakfast I had sea-urchin. All of it has been pretty cheap to buy. This is my last night here, so I'll probably spend a little money buying a plate of crab tonight.

It's been really cold. Last night it was 8 degrees Celsius, but I think it was colder this afternoon at the harbour's edge. I'm sure it will be colder further north.

I'm trying to regain energy for Daisetsuzan National Park, where I'll be over the weekend. I hope to stay in a town called Biei, at the edge of the Daisetsuzan mountains (still arranging accomodation). If all goes to plan, I'll have a quiet weekend of reading and working, and take some long walks through the national park. It should be very picturesque - Daisetsuzan National Park . At any rate, after that, I'll be ready for the lights of Tokyo again.







Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



8th November 2007

Nice to see pics of Japan other than the usual Tokyo, Kyoto, Osaka, Hiroshima etc.

Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0873s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb