Sayonara, sayonara, sayonara...


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hiroshima
July 30th 2006
Published: August 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ni nensei Sayonara PartyNi nensei Sayonara PartyNi nensei Sayonara Party

One of my favourite classes, 2-2, who decided to hold a sayonara party for me during our last class together. Notice the "I Miss You" sign on the blackboard...It was always fun to reply to this one, "How can you miss me? I'm right here!" Ah! Obviously I taught them English very well:)
It always amazes me how easy it is to step into someone's life by saying a simple "hello, nice to meet you" and how incredibly difficult it is to say that final goodbye. I guess really it should come as no surprise...when that goodbye is said, so much time has passed and so many experiences have been shared.

I said my "sayonara" to Japan on July 30th, and my heart is still mending a bit. I had a wonderful, incredible year, that I would trade nothing for. How do you say goodbye to a year of excitement, a year of travel, a year of adventure, and most difficult of all, all of the wonderful people you've met along the way? Let me tell you, it's not easy...

Really, July 30th was just my departure date, but the week before was really a week of goodbyes...I had a goodbye lunch with my Japanese teacher and calligraphy teacher at a lovely restaurant with a scenic Japanese garden. I said a goodbye speech to all of the students and teachers of Akifuchu High School (in Japanese!) and was presented with a beautiful bouquet of flowers and touching speeches by the principal and
Miyoshi WaterfallMiyoshi WaterfallMiyoshi Waterfall

This is the waterfall that I visited with Kayoko (my landlady), her 3 children, her mother, and her friend and family on my last full day in Japan. I thought it was beautiful...
student council president. Let me share part of my speech with you, as I must admit I was pretty proud to say it in Japanese:
"Mo sugu, kanada ni kaette nakereba narimasen. Demo minna san mo kanada ni ikimasu...watashi no kokoro no naka de..."
Translation: "Soon, I have to return to Canada, but all of you are going to Canada too...in my heart."

After the speech, I was made to feel like a celebrity as I took many pictures with some of my students, and swapped email addresses, with promises to write.

I had a goodbye dinner with all of the English teaching staff, and I had to say goodbye to my dear friends Dob and Alexis, with promises that we would see one another again.

My final weekend in Japan was the perfect weekend. My landlady, Kayoko, invited me to her brother's house in Miyoshi (about an hour drive) to see one of the largest fireworks festivals in all of Hiroshima prefecture. I got dressed up in the yukata (summer kimono) that she had bought me earlier as a gift, and watched the fireworks with her family and friends. The next day
...and apparently......and apparently......and apparently...

...so did these photographers!
we went hiking at a beautiful waterfall, and had a good, hearty Japanese lunch of soba (buckwheat noodles). It was shortly after that I had to say a goodbye to Kayoko and her lovely family...

I spent the rest of Saturday afternoon wandering downtown Hiroshima, trying to get in last photographs of the city I had really grown to love throughout the year.

When I first arrived in Japan, I wasn't too sure about the place...It was a lot quieter and more orderly than China, which I had visited a year previously. However, I quickly grew to love Hiroshima, Fuchucho, Akifuchu High School, and all of the people linked to them. I hope one day to return, and that this wasn't a final sayonara, but more like a "ja ne!," or as all of my students would say a "see you!"

Japan will always hold a special place in my heart.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Final PhotoFinal Photo
Final Photo

This is my last picture with Kayoko and her family and friends. Kayoko is one of the kindest people I met while in Japan, and was such a wonderful help to me. Her kids were also adorable. I miss them already!
View of the A-Bomb DomeView of the A-Bomb Dome
View of the A-Bomb Dome

One of the things that I enjoyed about Hiroshima, was how it was set on the water, and had many bridges as part of its landscape. I also love how I surprisingly caught this Japanese woman, sporting typical Japanese fashion...The A-Bomb dome, the mountains, the fashion...this picture says a lot to me.
Hondori Shopping ArcadeHondori Shopping Arcade
Hondori Shopping Arcade

I spent many evenings, and weekend afternoons wandering up and down this covered shopping arcade, called Hondori. Every Japanese city seems to have a covered shopping street, but I maintain that Hiroshima's is the best!
Signs of PeaceSigns of Peace
Signs of Peace

August 6th was the day the atomic bomb was dropped on Hiroshima, and in commemoration, these signs were hung along Hondori, all made of paper cranes.
Kanpai!Kanpai!
Kanpai!

Hiroshima is known for its streetcars, which apparently were one of the first things to be up and running after the bomb, and gave hope to the citizens of the city. This one seemed to be specially chartered for a beer party, and I was delighted when one of the occupants toasted me (kanpai!) from the window.
Dusk FallsDusk Falls
Dusk Falls

One last shot of a bridge, the sun setting, and the Peace Pagoda peeking out through the trees...Hiroshima, I'll miss you!


26th August 2006

Awww..
stacey.. that was a nice good bye blog.. but don't forget.. there are more adventures in your future.. - j
27th August 2006

Thanks!
Hi Stayshi! You don't know me but I just wanted to say thanks for sharing your Japan adventures with us fellow travelbloggers! I found your blog to be one of the more interesting ones! Thanks! PS: I'm from Sydney, such a shame, I could've shown you around...
27th August 2006

Thank you!
Hi Joe! Thank you for your comments. I'm always delighted when anyone writes and tells me they've enjoyed reading my entries. I only wish I had more to share...visit Japan if you get the chance! And it is a shame about Sydney...I could've used a tour guide! Maybe next time? Take care and thanks again:)
29th August 2006

Thanks!
No worries! Yeah next time your in Sydney drop us a line. Anyways hope you enjoyed your stay in Australia, you've been to more places here than I have! PS: I went to Japan 2 years ago (including Hiroshima) and still miss it a lot! Thanks for helping me reminisce the days...

Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 18; qc: 94; dbt: 0.1437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb